The best application I ever denied …

February 11, 2009 at 2:51 pm 11 comments

I received a very nice application from a Willing-to-Be-Holy Paladin at a time that we desperately needed another healer.  He had obviously put some time and thought into his answers, and injected them with a fair dose of humor as well. 

There were two I especially liked:

 Why do you want to join? 

I have looked fairly deeply into the guilds on this server, and I’ve come to the conclusion that this one would be the best fit for me based on your ability to have a casual attitude towards raiding, while still progressing well.  In the past I’ve played the game much more seriously than I should have, and I think that takes away from the fun of the game.  Which is, the overall reason we all play.

I’ll admit, the last sentence (technically, fragment) makes me /twitch.  If there’s one thing I can’t stand, it’s comma abuse!   (TJ: 1, BRK: 0 … if you’re keeping score.)

Other than that, this is a solid answer.  The Paladin doesn’t just tell me he’s done his homework; he shows me, by paraphrasing my guild’s vision statement in his response.  His description of the guild is pretty much spot-on: we market ourselves as a casual guild and have a relaxed attitude towards raiding, but still manage to remain fairly competitive when it comes to progression.  Clearly, the Paladin has either has talked to someone who knows us, or visited both our website (which describes our philosophies) and the realm forum (where our progression is posted).  Either way, I appreciate the fact that he’s taken the time to research the guild before applying to it.

 What is your favorite boss fight?  Why? 

Tanking Hydross the Unstable.  I thought the idea of making a whole set of gear for one fight was very cool for some reason.  =D  The fight isn’t even all that technical, but for me it was very fun.

He mentions a specific boss fight and one of its mechanics, which tells me that he either has raid experience or is able to use WoWWiki or Bosskillers to fake his way through it.  (I’m such a cynic.)  He also claims to have enjoyed creating a resistance set.  If this is true, he’s (1) insane, and (2) the kind of player who is willing to invest some serious time and/or gold in his gear … both big pluses in my book!

The rest of his application is equally well-written, and by the time I alt-tab back into the game, I’m looking forward to talking to him.  I open my Social window with the intention of adding him to my friends list, in part to see if he’s online and send him a /tell, and in part simply to stalk him … as I do all applicants to my guild … >.>

Hey, there’s a method to my madness! 

If you’re in Storm Peaks, then you’re probably doing Sons of Hodirs dailies, which is good. 

If you’re in Hillsbrad, then you might be ganking lowbies, which is pathetic and lame.  (Bad Hordeling, no cookie.)

Wait.  Where was I?

Oh, right.  Adding the Paladin to my friends list.

… except he’s already there.  That’s odd.  Where could I possibly know him from? 

I’m chewing on my lower lip, trying to remember (and panicking a little, because I have a reputation for a this totally OP memory to protect), when my Shaman officer whispers me.  Out of the blue.  And in blue, as is the nature of Shamans.

[Shaman]: Hey, did you see that new app?  From the pally?
[Me]: Yep. I’m about to send him a tell him now.
[Shaman]: Don’t bother.  It’s Sal.  I’ve been keeping tabs on him for a while.
[Me]: … By “a while,” do you mean “since he /gquit in a fit of pique after losing the roll on our first Hammer of Judgement to a boomkin; took ALL of the enchanting mats, epic gems and Hearts of Darkness from the guild bank; spelled FUCK U with vendor trash in the Officers’ tab; and then posted screen shots of his handiwork on the realm forum?”
[Shaman]: Yes, exactly. 
[Shaman]: He also called your boyfriend fat and mocked you and your sex life in trade chat.
[Me]: Ah, good to know. That explains why he’s on my friend’s list; I must not have noticed the name change.

Application denied.

 

Entry filed under: WoW. Tags: , , .

OMG, ninja! This is your cue to Lifetap!

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Karthis  |  February 11, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    Maybe he was running low on mats again? :P

    Reply
  • 2. Elleiras  |  February 11, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    That must have been it!

    /giggle

    Reply
  • 3. jord  |  February 11, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    wait… so this guy gquit, was a total d-bag to you and your guild, somehow forgot about these actions and then re-applied to the guild?

    wow…

    Reply
  • 4. Elleiras  |  February 11, 2009 at 10:12 pm

    He actually rerolled a new paladin in an attempt to start anew, but a “friend” of his tipped us off and we kept tabs on him through several paid name changes. When he finally leveled his new paladin to 80 and re-applied, he didn’t know that we knew who he was. ^.^

    Reply
  • 5. Tessy  |  February 12, 2009 at 6:25 am

    Quite an impressive way to leave a guild, only he missed a last vital part: server transfer :-D

    I’ve had a similar experience, a guildie who /gquit in a fit after throwing out accusations towards the officers (not totally unjustified ones, I am sad to admit) rolled a new toon and reapplied some months later.

    He was of course blacklisted in the guild, but noone knew he had a new toon. He didn’t tell me who he really was until some time after that, by which time I was already about to leave the guild myself for similar reasons.

    It was more of a happy surprise for me, since I had always liked the guy, so maybe it is not that very similar to your case after all XD.

    (I hope I got the commas right here :-)

    Reply
  • 6. Pixelated Executioner  |  February 12, 2009 at 11:28 am

    See, this is a great example of why you don’t burn bridges and be a jerk.

    Awesome read, Elleiras. :)

    Reply
  • 7. Kinzlayer  |  February 12, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    Wait, I’m just a bit confused as to how stupid this guy can be to think that no one will recognize his voice on vent once he is back in the guild or his style of say, conversation?

    Reply
  • 8. Happy Valentine’s Day! : World of Matticus  |  February 14, 2009 at 7:01 am

    [...] Fire – The best application I ever denied: I’d rank Fel Fire as one of the hottest WoW blogs to enter the community. Posts are very [...]

    Reply
  • 9. crhodan  |  February 15, 2009 at 12:53 am

    Those pesky name changes can result in some fun confusion for a guild leader. Back in vanilla WoW days when I used to run my own guild, I kept a blacklist of players in my friends list (this was before they added the ability to add notes to people in your friends list), and didn’t notice the guy had changed his name (back then the only way to change names was to convince a GM you were being harassed).

    So, I received an application from this guy under his new name that was very well written and seemed like a perfect applicant. Unluckily, I lacked the good sense you had to add him to my friends list (or maybe Im just not such a fan of stalking ;) ) and just whispered him in game after doing a /who to see if he was online.

    Long story short (and predicted by kinzlayer), we noticed his voice on vent was identical to this other mage we had who sold our BWL save to another guild on the server. An incredibly fun (in a sadistic kind of way) one sided ambush ensured with 39 guild members berating this guy on vent until he logged off and /gquit (unfortunately I was to busy laughing to kick him myself).

    Reply
  • 10. Steve Hall  |  February 15, 2009 at 10:50 am

    What a GREAT story!! The TJ/BRK reference just landed you on my blogroll. :) (Not that Matt’s commendation wouldn’t have put you there anyway, but comma use gets you in my feedreader too!)

    We recently lost a great Holy Pally when he admitted he was a former guildy who was /gkicked for being a first-class jerk. He didn’t steal anything or do anything similar, but he was a jerk. Soooo…he changed his name, reapplied and was accepted (no, we apparently don’t perform enough due diligence).

    So he’s raided with us for a week or so; hasn’t earned enough DKP to be able to bid on more than one item (which our other healadin had already) and is doing a great job. Then he tells the GM who he really is, basically says, “I’ll be a jerk whenever I want, so maybe you should kick me now.”

    The GM says no, you’ve been a good raider, and have helped the guild. I won’t kick you for something you might do. But…if and when you revert to your former behavior, yes, we’ll boot you. Sooo…the guy decided to do the honorable thing and /gquit.

    Reply
  • 11. Kestrel  |  February 15, 2009 at 10:50 am

    So much for paying attention to Sxipper. Yep, that’s me above. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Recent Posts

Contact Me?

elleiras@gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 149,072 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

