Tagged! What’s in a name?

March 20, 2009 at 1:08 pm 12 comments

ElleirasFulguralis is curious about what’s in a name?  (And I was tagged on the ground floor of a new meme!  How cool is that?)

Confession?  Elleiras isn’t actually my main’s name — or, rather, my main alt’s name (since my warlock has been retired from active duty, confusing the living Hellfire out of anyone who stumbles across a shaman’s blog after Googling ‘locky things like Affliction Spec, DoT Rotation or 101 Ways to Make a Gnome Mage Cry.)

No, Elleiras is a level 58 Blood Elf Death Knight who has been permanently parked in the Thrallmar inn.  She exists solely so I could experience the Death Knight starting chain on Live and claim the name I blog under on my home server.  (I guess that would be dually, not solely, but … I’m still crying over Amber’s Tribute For Great Justice.  ;.;  Lemme alone.)

Elleiras is also my warlock’s name, spelled backwards, which is in turn a corruption (get it?) of Sarelle — the name of a minor character in a book I happened to be reading at the time I created her.  I’ll admit, I didn’t put much that thought into it.  I was very hastily rerolling ‘lock, because after all of two quests as an Undead mage, I knew I hated the class.  Besides, I was fiercely jealous of my sister’s imp.  (“You get a pet?  That shoots fireballs?  Your pet is cooler than my character?  No fair!”)

My short-lived mage was Ihlana, a name I made up more or less out of thin air for a character — an ice mage, actually, whose fraternal twin was a fire mage named Caethor — in a text-based, freeform roleplaying game I played once upon a time (i.e., high school).  (Does anyone else remember RhyDin on AOL, back when AOL was still cool and only hardcore geeks used IRC?) 

(How’s that for parenthetical asides, by the way?)

Ihlana has long-since been deleted, but her name lives on in the form of my level 51 feral druid. 

SarielleMy shaman’s name, Liluye, is (supposedly) a Miwok name meaning “singing chicken hawk that soars.”  I tend to scour the Internet for Native American names for my many Tauren alts, since that seems to be the trend in-game.  Case in point: there’s an NPC in Thunderbluff whose name, Kuruk, is Pawnee for “bear.”

My level 70 hunter, Fahalle, was actually named by Asara.  I have no idea how to pronounce it (I tend to refer to her as “Falafel” >.>), but I love the shape of the letters together.  It’s a very pretty name for a very tough Orc.

That encompasses all of my significant characters, I think.  I have a baby shadow priest named Malice (which I couldn’t believe wasn’t taken!),  a tiny hunter named Villanie (if the mohawk fits…), and a bank alt named Mychelle (my name is Michelle; hi! *wave*), but none of them see significant playtime these days and I tend to forget they exist until the server crashes and I’m forced to stare longingly at the character selection screen …

So, that’s it for me!  I’m supposed to tag three more bloggers, but I prefer to leave these things open-ended for anyone who wants to participate.  It’s a cop-out, I know, but it’s one designed to spread the warm-and-fuzzies — so I hope you’ll forgive me. ;)

Entry filed under: WoW. Tags: , , .

“Casual” is not a four-letter word Soloing Don Carlos as an Enhancement Shaman

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Asara  |  March 20, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    Yay I was helpful :)
    In my head I pronounced it like Valhalla, but without the first L. I like Falafel better though!

    Reply
  • 2. Elleiras  |  March 20, 2009 at 2:24 pm

    [G] Fahalle: Done! I have a new name, a purple mohawk, and — er — breasts.
    [G] Fahalle: … but I can’t pronounce my name.
    [G] Magelet: I hereby dub you … Falafel.
    [G] Protpally: Ooo, falafel. I’m craving Greek.
    [G] Fahalle: Who the hell craves Greek?
    [G] Protpally: Me. brb, lunch.
    [G] Magelet: Wait. Who’s going to tank?
    [G] Protpally:
    [G] Magelet: Damn it. I blame Falafel.

    … and it stuck!

    Thanks for the name. I love it — even if I can’t actually pronounce it. <3

    Reply
  • 3. Rohan  |  March 20, 2009 at 3:39 pm

    What’s the book with the minor character Sarelle? Your link points to For the Bubbles.

    Reply
  • 4. Elleiras  |  March 20, 2009 at 4:10 pm

    Oops. I just fixed it.

    It’s Lover Awakened by J.R. Ward. … supernatural romance …

    /blush

    Reply
  • 5. Leah  |  March 20, 2009 at 10:26 pm

    <3 I knew I liked you, but now I really really like you.

    Hello fellow romance reader :P

    though personaly – I have adecided preference for Sherrylin Kenyon – hence the name of my main :P Dangreuse

    Reply
  • 6. Elleiras  |  March 21, 2009 at 12:34 am

    Hiya! *wave*

    I haven’t been able to get into Sherrylin Kenyon, but I think that may be because I picked up a random book in the series and got completely, totally lost. I keep meaning to try her again, but from the beginning this time.

    Reply
  • 7. Crucifer  |  March 21, 2009 at 4:09 am

    No one will ever meme tag me so I’ll just post here.

    My original internet handle is only used by a few oldies and my wife who met me online.

    Since 2000, I have been known as Crucifer (my first WoW character was a hunter called this) – taken from the British comic 2000AD (it’s one of the planets Durham Red visits after her millenium hibernation). I just thought it sounded cool.

    On the WoW European Server Eonar, I’m known as Icaria, a Feral DPS druid. I wanted a name that conjured up winter connotations, not realising there is a Greek island similarly called.

    On the Oceanic Servers where I currently play I call myself Keltash – a name I chose because I wanted something Stargatey. Keltash reminds me a bit of “Al’kesh”, the Goa’uld bomber.

    The only other name of note is my Feral Druid on the Oceanic Server called Istarian, after the 5 wizards from Lord of the Rings (they were collectively called the Istari).

    Reply
  • 8. kyrilean  |  March 22, 2009 at 12:42 pm

    Did this last year, but here’s the link.

    Reply
  • 9. kyrilean  |  March 22, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    OK, that didn’t seem to work. Here’s the address:

    http://casualhardcore.wordpress.com/2008/02/12/character-name-creation/

    Reply
  • 10. Fulguralis  |  March 23, 2009 at 8:14 am

    @kyrilean – yeah i figured it’s been done before, but i guess not as a “meme”. I just find myself wondering a lot “how’d they come up with that?” and thought I’d do something about it :-)

    @elleiras – /clap, I like this topic. It generates some good response which can bring out weird quirks that I think are fun. Like supernatural romance. So far I’ve steered clear of the stuff, but I do have a soft spot for vampires which is very un-guy like. So sue me. LOL @ falafel. I tend to butcher names as RL all the time into stuff like. Recently, we roll with a hunter named mifflin that is now dubbed “muffin” and various conjugations thereof.

    Reply
  • 11. Naming names - a query « Holy Discipline  |  March 24, 2009 at 2:14 am

    [...] have had the idea for this post in the works for a bit but since there’s a naming meme going around, it’s kinda stolen my thunder.  (Well, sort of.  In a way.  Ok, not really…) [...]

    Reply
  • 12. Naming names – a query | Anea  |  October 24, 2009 at 12:27 am

    [...] have had the idea for this post in the works for a bit but since there’s a naming meme going around, it’s kinda stolen my thunder.  (Well, sort of.  In a way.  Ok, not really…) [...]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Recent Posts

Contact Me?

elleiras@gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 149,170 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

