What I’ve been up to …

September 14, 2009 at 7:41 pm 11 comments

… in the World of Warcraft and beyond!

I was laid off.  I knew it was coming, of course. I received my 90 day notice a hundred and something days ago, so I had plenty of time to tie up loose ends and look for something new — which I found, thankfully.  Not all of my former coworkers have been so fortunate.

I started a new job!  A better one, with more responsibility, an ultra-casual dress code, catered lunches every day and — best of all — an honest-to-Earthmother office.  (Yes, that’s right: I am no longer a cube-dweller.)  I’m not crazy about the 50-mile drive from cowtown to the Scottsdale Airpark … but as long as it doesn’t make me miss raids, I’ll deal.  (The promise of a Wii-centric corporate wellness plan helps!)

I threw guild recruitment wide open to stave off the summer slump … and retained exactly no one.

I’m still a little irked about that, actually.  I scheduled enough two-week trials to keep summer raids on the calendar (give or take a few Saturdays), but none of our initiates seemed to work out long-term.

The resto druid /gquit in a fit of pique after I benched him from a hard-mode Iron Council attempt after his fourth or fifth death-by-Overload.  (Exactly how does a druid — the most mobile healer in the game — fail so spectacularly at moving?!)

The new healadin /ragequit exactly three hours after I promoted him to raider because he lost a spellpower mace to a veteran with higher Priority under our EPGP system.

And the mage/warlock/warrior/death knight clique who applied together disappeared together shortly after we extended the warrior’s trial (he was pulling tank level DPS … as fury) and asked the Death Knight to make a home somewhere else (he was worse).  (Sorry, guys. The tag above my head reads <Surreality>, not <Costco>. We don’t do package deals ‘round here!)

We are, however, recruiting.  Either a tree or a healadin, and assorted DPS.  Just sayin’.  >.>

I cleared Trial of the Crusader on 10 and 25, and Trial of the Grand Crusader on 10.

If you’ll pardon the pun, this instance is a colossal disappointment.  It’s far too easy, even on “hard mode,” and with disproportionately good gear for the (lack of) challenge.  We aren’t a server first guild.  We’re a server fourteenth guild … and yet our alt run (main-tanked by yours truly!) full-cleared ToC 10 the first week it was available, while our achievement team earned A Tribute to Skill in the 10-man version shortly thereafter (in our first real attempt, and while running only two healers on Anub’arak). 

Yes, I know: it’s the “catch up” tier, so the so-called casuals can experience Icecrown without having to waste time in Naxxramas or Ulduar. R.I.P., linear raid progression.  /tear.

I carved a nice little Elle-shaped niche out of the glyph market, following Kyrilean‘s guide, and have made 20K gold in the last three weeks with very little effort.  (The Sons of Hodir may miss me, but I sure as hellfire don’t miss them.)

I dabbled in 3v3 arena, as a resto shaman, with a feral druid and marksman hunter as partners.  Yes, I know: if we were to respec and make a few minor (/cough) gear tweaks, we could become the flavor of the month “beastcleave” team.  But I love to heal and Jef doesn’t, so we’ll learn to love our sub-300 rating.  (No, I didn’t miss a zero!)  (Beastcleave is getting nerfed, anyway.  So there.)

I’ve been leveling my druid alt, with the half-formed idea of transferring her off-server to play with real life or possibly even blog friends — if they’ll have me.  The problem is that almost everyone I know who isn’t on Black Dragonflight is Alliance, and Alliance catform is just sad.  I love my little Taurenkitty and would hate to trade her fierce mane and tribal war paint for bubblegum fur and body glitter.

I’ve been contemplating wedding plans.  No, I haven’t actually started making wedding plans yet.  That’s far too intimidating!  I’m just contemplating starting them.  So far, all I know for sure is that the Maid of Honor has demanded (and therefore, will wear) a butt bow.  Of course, I’m a little worried about how that will work for my guild’s warrior tank, who is lobbying for bridesmaid status, in spite of the fact that he is neither bride nor maid…

We shall see!

Entry filed under: WoW. Tags: .

Introducing: Elam! Fel Fire is moving …

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Armagon  |  September 15, 2009 at 6:02 am

    Good to hear (well, the more important things seemed to have worked out at least).
    Good luck with recruiting, I’ve had my share of multi-applications and it’s always a dreadful drama if they’re friends but skillwise no match and you just want to keep a part of them.

    Reply
  • 2. Ambrosyne  |  September 15, 2009 at 9:44 am

    But we’ve got EMO BRACELETS and you could take gear from Mikata!

    Reply
  • 3. Bob2  |  September 15, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    Its hard to get a good fury warrior isn’t it =P

    Reply
    • 4. Elleiras  |  September 15, 2009 at 1:24 pm

      The new one seems all right, but he’s no Bob2.
      He’s not even a Bob1!

      … and by that, I mean he doesn’t die first on every. single. fight. I have no one to commiserate with while face down on the floor! Except Elam, but, y’know. Elam.

      Reply
      • 5. Bob2  |  September 15, 2009 at 7:05 pm

        Hey the last time that I died 5 sec into a fight was on IC hard mode because I had just spent all night with the bear tanking where i could go balls to the walls off the gun. Then we switch to a pally tank and i get 2 crit auto swings, and a double crit whirlwind right after the pull. IMHO not my fault =P

        Reply
  • 6. Syrana  |  September 15, 2009 at 4:53 pm

    Congrats on the new job! :D

    Reply
  • 7. kyrilean  |  September 16, 2009 at 7:26 am

    Gratz on the glyph market! Glad the guide helped someone! And Amber’s right, there really is nothing like stealing gear from Mikata. :P

    Reply
  • 8. thrinidir  |  September 17, 2009 at 4:28 am

    Kyrilean’s guide is the best thing that happened after sliced bread! I’ve been looking for something exactly like this…I’ve been tweaking the Auctioneer, but it doesn’t even come close to quick auctions. Ty for this beautiful addon…

    congrats on the job!

    Reply
  • 9. thrinidir  |  September 17, 2009 at 4:30 am

    …now if I’d only find a good site where the best glyphs for all specs are listed it would be even more beautiful :).

    Reply
  • 10. Forreststump  |  September 22, 2009 at 7:39 am

    Forreststump… tree… now the question is: which faction are you?

    Reply
    • 11. Forreststump  |  September 22, 2009 at 7:43 am

      Wait… I know the answer to that already. /sigh

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Recent Posts

Contact Me?

elleiras@gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 149,276 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

