The Thaddius jump should drop badges.

January 9, 2009 at 7:00 am 11 comments

elle_cryFor me, the hardest part of Naxxramas isn’t the Helgian dance. 

It isn’t managing Marks on the Four Horsemen, kiting Zombie Chow away from Gluth or remembering to “explode somewhere private” (to quote one of my boyfriend’s finer pieces of raid leading) when Grobbulus targets me for an injection of mutagen.

It isn’t even the dreaded slime room, which I learned to love and fear the day Canada won the World Junior Tournament  did something amazing and utterly inexplicable that I cannot for the life of me explain.  (Thank you, Karthis, for explaining to me the significance of the occasion!)

No …  It’s making the jump down from the two elevated platforms in Thaddius’s room to the ledge where he’s tanked.  I don’t know why, but I absolutely cannot make this jump consistently. 

The first time I encountered it was in Naxx 25, since my 10-man group hadn’t quite made it that far into the instance yet.  I spent our entire attempt on Thaddius jumping, falling, running, jumping and falling again.  I wasn’t the only one who fell, but I was the only one who fell every. single. time. 

Since then, I’ve learned to drop a summoning circle on the platform right before I make the jump, so if I fall, I can teleport to the top and try again.  I can usually manage to make it the second time, but /sigh … not always.

Last week, I replaced myself with a wait-listed Ret Pally after I once again failed to make the jump.  Not just once.  Not even two or three times.  But for the entire duration of the boss fight. 

That makes me, co-founder and guild leader, the first and only person ever benched from a Surreality raid for poor performance.  Even when we were learning Archimonde, and the same people wiped us again and again, we practiced together until every last raider mastered the movement of the fight.

I know I’m not alone.  Larísa posted similar frustrations about the Thaddius jump a while back, and I’ve pored over her readers’ comments several times since then in search of solace and inspiration. 

I’ve also asked in raid chat for help, and received a variety of tips from sympathetic guild members.  These tips range from swiveling my camera for an aerial view to popping a Swiftness Potion (the rogues and kitties tell me that an extra burst of speed helps) to asking a hunter to turn on Aspect of the Dazed Pack. 

Larísa actually inspired the solution that ended up working for me, although she doesn’t know it yet.  She mentioned in her post that she was eventually able to Slowfall through the jump.  Unfortunately, as a Warlock, I don’t have that ability — but I do have a decent enough reputation with the Steemwheedle Cartel to purchase the next best thing.

Can you see where I’m going with this? 

For the last few raids, I’ve managed to bluff my way through the fight by chain-chugging Noggenfogger Elixirs and praying for Slowfall to proc.  One of these days, I’ll have to take a screen shot of me as a mini-skeleton, slowfalling through the air behind the rest of the raid (since it’s taken four or five hits of Noggenfogger to get the desired effect).

Unfortunately, the last time we did Thaddius I forgot to stop in Gadgetzan on my way through Dragonblight, so I didn’t have any Noggenfogger to see me through the jump.  You would think that I would have learned to do without by now, but … no. 

Apparently, I’m just as much of a klutz in-game as in real life.

Anyway, we cleared the Spider, Plague and Military wings in Naxx 25 last night, which means the Abomination wing is next up on Saturday.  I’m really hoping to finish Naxx 10 before then so I can practice in a clear raid ID, because benching myself because I can’t handle a little jump, of all things, is just humiliating.

Solo five-man group quests in Sholazar Basin?  Piece of cake! 

Jump off a platform and land with both feet firmly on the ground?  … not so much.

Even my imp is laughing at me. 😦

 

Update:  SUCCESS!  I ran Naxx 10 on my shaman last night (after I wrote this post, but before its scheduled publication this morning), popped a Swiftness potion at the crucial moment, and had no problems soaring over the divide between the raised platform and Thaddius’s ledge.  Remind me to send a certain priest many, many +16 spirit gems in thanks for his brilliant suggestion! 

lil_flex

Entry filed under: WoW. Tags: , .

P.S. To all trains a silver lining

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Asara  |  January 9, 2009 at 7:41 am

    Oh dear.
    As someone who once spent almost an entire Lurker fight trying to get the *bleep* back onto my assigned platform.. I am not looking forward to this! I just recently hit 80 and started raiding again.. my first experience in Naxx was Wednesday, in 25-man. I haven’t seen Thaddius yet, but I will try to keep these tips in mind when I get there, so thanks!

    Reply
  • 2. Karthis  |  January 9, 2009 at 8:26 am

    Canada didn’t win the World Juniors that day…. we got into the gold medal game by beating Russia in spectacular fashion. =)

    We did, however, beat Russia that Monday to take gold.

    Reply
  • 3. Karthis  |  January 9, 2009 at 8:28 am

    Oh yeah – as for that jump, I actually forgot to press the jump key once, but apparently in kitty form that doesn’t matter – I still landed on Thaddius’ platform.

    L2 cat form!

    Reply
  • 4. Elleiras  |  January 9, 2009 at 10:00 am

    @Asara – I had problems with Lurker, too! Not always, and not even often (certainly nothing like Thaddius), but I can remember a time or two that I just could not seem to jump out of the water. I especially hated getting assigned to CC duty on Donut Island (the one with the hole in it), because I would inevitably manage to fall in.

    Lurker, btw, is a really fun fight with Canadian raid leaders. I’ll never forget the first time someone asked in Vent “… wait, what a ‘spoot’?”

    @Karthis – I’m so confused! Doesn’t gold = win? o.o Either way, I’d better fix it before my boyfriend wakes up from his nightly hiberation (silly bear druids) and roars at me for getting it all wrong — again.

    And … that is -so- not fair. Nerf cat form!

    Reply
  • 5. Rohan  |  January 9, 2009 at 4:24 pm

    Canada didn’t win on Saturday. They won on Monday. They beat the Russians on Saturday (which, to be honest, is probably more important than actually winning).

    Reply
  • 6. Larísa  |  January 11, 2009 at 5:31 am

    I had the same problem. I even wrote a post about my problems. Finally a friend gently reminded me that I’m a mage and can use slowfall. Excellent suggestion! Works fine. They’re going to make it possible to buff other players with slowfall as well, so in the future just ask a mage in the party for assistance.

    Reply
  • 7. Fel Fire  |  January 15, 2009 at 12:20 am

    […] mentioned this briefly in an update at the bottom of my original post, but since there seems to be some interest from the spatially challenged among us (and I definitely […]

    Reply
  • 8. clairebear  |  August 8, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    You know that any mage can cast slow fall on party members 😀 Just whisper them to give you the buff if your scared still.

    Reply
  • 9. I’ve fallen in love … « Fel Fire  |  August 17, 2009 at 2:24 pm

    […] On Thursday evening, Jef’s baby retadin — the oh-so creatively named “Retnewb” /cough — and I joined a (mostly) alt run of Naxx 10.  I off-tanked for my guild’s main tankadin … which means that I ended up perfecting my prot-DPS rotation, because holding aggro against a full T8.5 tank with BiS everything was near impossible.  Still, Eanin let me MT a few bosses, including Maexxana but excluding Thaddius (because they still don’t trust me to make that jump).  […]

    Reply
  • 10. I’ve fallen in love … « Altadin  |  September 17, 2009 at 9:08 am

    […] On Thursday evening, Jef's baby retadin — the oh-so creatively named "Retnewb" /cough — and I joined a (mostly) alt run of Naxx 10.  I off-tanked for my guild's main tankadin … which means that I ended up perfecting my prot-DPS rotation, because holding aggro against a full T8.5 tank with BiS everything was near impossible.  Still, Eanin let me MT a few bosses, including Maexxana but excluding Thaddius (because they still don't trust me to make that jump).  […]

    Reply
  • 11. Fallen ashes  |  July 31, 2010 at 4:02 pm

    Hey guys if anyone has a problem leave a comment i have aced this game over 6 years and have a level 80 in every class i currently have the new cataclysw extension and am workin on a goblin at the moment ill be finished in a week i love my job as a wow game adminastrator all i gotta do for my job is play wow epic.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Recent Posts

Contact Me?

elleiras@gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 150,839 hits

