The Thaddius jump revisited, and yet another reason boys are weird.

January 15, 2009 at 12:19 am 1 comment

I have to admit, I’m a little surprised — not to mention relieved (it’s so nice not to be alone!) — by the number of visitors WordPress tells me have stumbled upon my little blog after Googling the key words “Thaddius jump.”  I suppose I shouldn’t be: after all, after that first disastrous night in Heroic Naxx, I Googled it too. 😉

I mentioned this briefly in an update at the bottom of my original post, but since there seems to be some interest from the spatially challenged among us (and I definitely fall into this category, so absolutely no judgments here!), I thought I’d take a minute to revisit a simple yet effective solution for those of us who won’t have access to Slowfall until Patch 3.0.8.  (/envy, btw.)

swiftness

Ta da!

It’s hard to believe, but a level 5 potion can be the difference between a clean one-shot and an agonizing night of near-misses on the Construct Quarter’s final menace.  The Swiftness Potion is craftable via alchemy, at all of skill level 60, but the formula appears to be a world drop off of low level mobs (according to WoWHead, the best drop rate is 0.9% off of Corrupted Surf Crawlers in Durotar) so not every alchemist will have it.  Fortunately for me, our priest officer does.

As you can see from the Auctioneer tooltip, the potion sells for about a gold and a half on my server.  Its mats include one Swiftthistle, one Briarthorn and a single Empty Vial.

The Swiftness Potion potion only has a 15 second duration, so you’ll want to wait until Fuegen and Stalagg go down before you take it.  After they do, it’s a simple matter of popping your potion and taking a running leap off the raised ledge to Thaddius’s platform.  Believe me: if I can do it, anyone can!

I’ve come to depend on these things so much that as soon as I realized I had entrusted my last stack to my shaman, I hearthed to Dalaran mid-raid, switched characters and mailed them to myself before catching a warlock summon back to Thaddius’s lair.  (Where I had no problems whatsoever with the jump, by the way.  /flex)

…  of course, my officers may or may not have teased me about my inability to do the fight without my drug of choice, and may or may not be threatening to stage an intervention. >.>

Keep in mind that the Swiftness Potion it shares a cooldown with every other potion in the game, so you won’t be able to use it and pop a runic health or mana pot later in the fight.  I’ve never needed either on Thaddius, though, so it’s a total no-brainer for me. (If you can’t l2jump, at least l2Lifetap!)

And in other news!

Once upon a time, a long time ago (i.e., high school), the boys used to stand around at lunch and during passing periods, doing nothing more than nodding occasionally and quoting movies and TV shows at each other.

Apparently, this is something they never quite outgrow …

tank_club

For the record, I was in Group 1 (the tank group) instead of in Group 4 with the other casters  because I was feeling nostalgic.  Before Blood Pact went raid-wide, I was often assigned to Group 1 as the ‘lock on imp duty.  Since 3.0 obliterated changed raid synergies, I haven’t had an excuse to hang out with the tanks, so I switched spots with a fury warrior for a few minutes at the beginning of the raid — just to say “hi.”

… I didn’t know there’d be rules …

Entry filed under: WoW. Tags: , .

WTB a new name for a long-abandoned hunter … I wish I could be excited about my four-piece bonus.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Shadow  |  January 15, 2009 at 9:28 am

    An alternate solution would be to ensure that the “challenged” jumpers have an Unholy DK (with the unholy aura which is invaluable for raiding) with them. This gives a 15% run speed boost to all nearby raid members making the jump easier. With the current overabundance of DKs and the viability of UH spec for tanking or DPS, this should not be too difficult to accomplish.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Recent Posts

Contact Me?

elleiras@gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 150,632 hits

