I can’t click Publish. :S

February 19, 2009 at 12:14 pm 8 comments

The title of my next blogpost is “It’s official.  I’m a shaman.”

It’s all written.  Spell-checked.  Formatted.  Sitting there in my drafts folder, waiting oh-so patiently for me to click Publish.

… But I can’t bring myself to do it, because then it really will be official. 

It’s the right decision — for me, and for my guild.  But, damn it, I love my ‘lock.  I don’t want to let her go.  What will she do without me?  Where will she go?  Who will remind her to eat the brains of her fallen enemies?  She couldn’t find her Cannibalize button if her unlife depended on it!

She needs me.

And now I’m having second thoughts.

/waffle

Entry filed under: WoW. Tags: .

VI It’s official. I’m a shaman.

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Darraxus  |  February 19, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    If it makes you feel any better, I have not touched my warlock since the expansion when the screwed them over royally.

    Reply
  • 2. Tara  |  February 19, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    Shaman are awesome. Don’t worry, once you go totem you never look back.

    Reply
  • 3. kavika  |  February 19, 2009 at 12:53 pm

    what flavor of shaman are you thinking? Elemental I suppose?

    Reply
  • 4. kavika  |  February 19, 2009 at 1:00 pm

    And ditto on the Darraxus comment. Every once in a while I get the bug to play my lock again so I try out a heroic or something….and….bleh. Very much un-fun. Then I go play a battleground, and within 5 times of dying (in 5 seconds or less each time), I hit alt-F4. If someone would’ve come to me pre-TBC and told me that my lock would someday be my alt, I wouldn’t have believed them. Now though, my lock is my alt (more like a bank alt really), and my holy paladin is my main. It’s quite obvious that all the development attention that should have gone to locks went instead to deathknights.

    Reply
  • 5. Pixelated Executioner  |  February 19, 2009 at 1:18 pm

    It always pains me to see people go through periods where they feel like they’re locked into a class that can’t contribute. I felt the same way about my warlock back in the old days when all I was good for was summoning raids and candy ONE PERSON AT A TIME.

    I felt it again later when I grew horribly bored with my paladin playing games of X-Treme Whack-a-Mole.

    Now I’m playing a warrior that I love, and a Death Knight that I greatly enjoy, and I look back at these two poor, sad alts that will probably never be played to level 80.

    A good friend in my guild has been going through similar problems with her Warlock experience. She feels like even though she’s doing everything she can, she’s not really giving her all on a raid. I try to support her as much as I can, and it finally paid off for her the other night when she pulled nearly 3000 DPS on Patchwerk.

    Doomguards finally have a use – they make her feel better about her class.

    I know that as a guild leader, you have an obligation to your guild to an extent, but the important thing is NOT what your guild needs. It’s what YOU need.

    There has to be a middle ground somewhere.

    Reply
  • 6. Elleiras  |  February 19, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    @Daraxxus – I know what you mean. I actually lost DPS when 3.0 hit! It was sooo disappointing.

    @Tara – I agree! I ❤ my resto shaman. I’m just going to miss my ‘lock … a lot. (And I’m being a bit overdramatic about it. It’s not like she’ll be relegated to dustbunny — dustzombie? — status.)

    @kavika – Resto, for sure. With an elemental dual-spec when they become available.

    I actually don’t enjoy competing on the damage meters (I tend to choke under pressure), so elemental’s recent buffage doesn’t entice me nearly as much as the mini-game that is raid healing. It’s just a combination of factors, none of which involve being disillusioned with my lock.

    Reply
  • 7. Elleiras  |  February 19, 2009 at 6:25 pm

    Wise words from the Pixelated Executioner. (I’m so tempted to call you Pix. You have *no* idea. I almost did in a parenthetical aisde in my “It’s official” post!)

    I went ahead and published the post I was struggling with, so you probably know by now that I wasn’t motivated by frustration with my warlock, per se. I still love the class, even though I’ll be the first to agree that we feel “broken” right now.

    I love the Doomguard on Patchwerk idea. I’m so going to try that the next time I get in on Naxx 25 as a my lock! I wonder how he’d fare in VoA … 😀

    It’s nice to hear that you’ve found happiness with your characters. It gives me hope for mine! (And it’s just nice to hear, in general.)

    Reply
  • 8. Pixelated Executioner  |  February 20, 2009 at 8:07 am

    By all means, call me Pix. It’s usually how I reply to emails, anyway. 🙂

    And the Doomguard on Patchwerk was an idea that I was really skeptical of at first; but she managed to pull almost 3k dps with moderate heroic blues/purples and some early Naxx10 gear. It’s pretty impressive, and easier to support now that they’ve taken off some of the ridiculous restrictions.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Recent Posts

Contact Me?

elleiras@gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 150,481 hits

