So, where are these dance studios again?

February 24, 2009 at 7:03 pm 7 comments

As everyone knows — I already looked under that rock and no one was home, so don’t even try that excuse with me! — 3.1 is live on the PTR and the patch notes are available … everywhere.  (If the patch notes don’t have their own profile on MySpace Music yet, I’d be surprised.)

Some of WoW’s most prominent bloggers are refraining from commenting on the grounds that everything is subject to change, so anything they write now is likely to be out of date tomorrow.  Others are already horns-deep (what? all of the best bloggers have horns!) in the analyses.

I might take a stab at some of the warlock changes.  I’m not sure; theorycrafting really isn’t my cup of Honeymint Tea (I crunch numbers for a living, so it’s the last thing I want to do when I get home), but … it is tempting.  To write about, I mean — not necessarily to math about. 

It looks like Affliction DPS is being simplified, courtesy of a shorter DoT rotation, with the Siphon Life effect baked into Corruption and Haunt’s benefit limited to shadow spells — which makes Immolate, once our highest DPCT, significantly less attractive. 

It also appears that raid utility is being moved out of the Affliction tree (Malediction no longer affects Curse of Elements) and into Destruction (at max rank, Improved Shadow Bolt applies a 5% crit buff and Improved Soul Leech has a 100% chance to proc Replenishment). 

Needless to say, this represents a complete role-reversal from TBC, when most guilds raided with exactly one Affliction ‘lock — usually the newest or least-geared among them, who grudgingly spec’d into Malediction, Improved Imp and Shadow’s Embrace, ran with a phase-shifted mana battery, and would have gladly sold her soul (again!) for a one-way ticket out of the tank group. 

Plate armor is loud, leather stinks when it gets sweaty and bear tanks have fleas.  Trust me; I know.

But I digress.

While I contemplate the warlock changes, and look for my long-lost calculator (I did promise to take another look at shaman gems…), here are some 3.1 highlights from elsewhere on the Web:

  • Siha of Banana Shoulders contemplates a respec, since the new Tier 1 protection talent, Divinity, looks too good for any healadin (or tankadin, for that matter) to pass up;
  • Euripedes whores himself out to Google somehow manages to write about Polymorph: Rabbit with a straight face (Warlock DPS gets buffed and mages finally learn how to pull bunnies out of hats?  Sweet!);
  • Ambrosyne reacts in her inimitable fashion (one part babble, two parts acerbic wit) to the paladin and priest changes;
  • Birdfall speculates about a new plethora of pets, as well as some faction-specific mounts (including a mechanical gnome head, if you can believe it);
  • Nibuca of Mystic Chicanery takes an in-depth look at the Affliction changes (and reassures me that there are still warlocks out there!, especially in light of Yet Another Warlock Nerf officially closing down);
  • Karthis of Of Teeth and Claws has a likewise detailed analysis of the feral druid changes, from both cat and bear’s perspective (although I can’t help but notice he insists on calling Bear bubbles “Savage Defense, ” or something ungainly like that);
  • and, of course, the WoW Insider bloggers burned the midnight oil on their respective class guides, which I expect will be updated many, many times in the upcoming weeks.  (But WI gets no link-love, because my Armani War Bear and I are still mad about that “dabbling in Zul’Aman” comment. :p)

Me, I’m lamenting the fact that “ghetto-hearthing” will soon become a thing of the past, e-mailing myself reminders to do my Northrend Inscription Research every single day, and squealing like a schoolgirl over the possibility that the new legendary could very well be a healing mace (even if it’s almost certain to go to my guild’s Holy priest). 

I’m also hopeful that all of the information that’s coming out of the PTR will re-interest my guild in the game, so we can get some more Sartharion 3D attempts in this week.  It would be wonderful to be able to say that we beat the hardest encounter in the game while it was still hard, and carry that confidence forward into Uldaur.

It’s getting closer!

Entry filed under: WoW. Tags: , .

Today’s Top Search My descent into trolldom is now complete

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Fear.Win  |  February 24, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    Hey, nice blog! I stumbled across it through comments on a CriticalQQ post and I’m always looking out for other Warlock/Spriest blogs. *adds you to blogroll*

    Reply
  • 2. Kinzlayer  |  February 25, 2009 at 9:54 am

    awwwwww, they are taking out ghetto hearthing? This is the first I have read this… I’m bummed.

    Reply
  • 3. Elleiras  |  February 25, 2009 at 10:25 am

    Fear.Win – Welcome! 🙂

    Kinzlayer – Yes, it’s sad but true. Attempting to ghetto hearth on the PTR will port you to the nearest graveyard rather than to your bind point. I might actually have to buy one of those Kirin Tor rings now.

    Reply
  • 4. Minn  |  February 25, 2009 at 8:10 pm

    Ouch on the ghetto hearth nerf! Well on the bright side there will be ilvl 213 Kirin Tor rings – the caster version is looking sleek. Better do more dailies, they’re probably going to cost way more than 8 grand.

    I’m predicting most of the FG/Emberstorm players are going Affliction in 3.1, once they’re aware of how much simpler the latter’s rotation is.

    Reply
  • 5. Elleiras  |  February 25, 2009 at 9:44 pm

    I read somewhere that you can upgrade your current Kirin Tor ring to one of the new ones for an extra 1000g — so assuming you already have one, it shouldn’t completely break the bank. 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Ambrosyne  |  February 26, 2009 at 9:26 am

    /mourns Ghetto Hearthing

    Reply
  • 7. Fulguralis  |  February 26, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    Woot for more warlock bloggery. I saw abi (fear.win) and kinz on here and feel like I got left behind by the cool kids.

    I, too, was sad to see YAWN speak of closing.

    As for the changes, I’ve said a fair bit at my place already, but… I dislike the removal of SL’s damage component in its tacking on to Corruption and will be removing Immolate from my rotation due to lack of bonuses. I’m hoping this doesn’t result in a huge DPS nerf and realize Blizz is pushing me to dust off the old s-bolt spam button again. It was sort of nice functioning without gratuitous amounts of s-bolts for a while. Oh well, easy come easy go.

    I guess we’ll have to see what goes live.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Recent Posts

Contact Me?

elleiras@gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 150,481 hits

