I’m becoming an angry healer :(

March 10, 2009 at 8:47 am 23 comments

I came to this realization last night, after snarling through an “alt run” of OS10 (on my main, of course; both healers were on mains, although one was an off-spec retadin). 

The main tank was the warrior alt of our holy-turned-shadow priest.  He is a damned good healer … and a god-awful tank.  Still, it wasn’t his tanking that had me all riled up (“on the warpath,” as one slightly wary-of-me hunter put it; they really aren’t used to seeing me rage in /guild chat!).  No, it was the fact that the entire group — 100% melee, by the way, and 40% Death Knight — would stand around at half health after each trash pull. 

Not eating. 

Not bandaging. 

Just standing there, waiting none-too-patiently for me to heal them up to full. 

So the healadin and I would look at each other and /sigh, and top them off … and EVERY SINGLE TIME, without fail, the main tank would charge ahead to the next pull (or drake!) when we were still at half mana from healing the entire 10-man raid while out of combat

You’d think that someone who raided on a healer throughout the entire Burning Crusade and much of the current expansion would know how utterly impolite (and foolish) this is … but, no.  Even when the paladin and I /afk’d the readycheck before Sartharion (we were healing! and drinking!), the warrior didn’t take the hint. 

“Why aren’t you ready?  Come on.”

So I’m becoming an angry healer.  You know, the kind who hates tanks.  And hates DPS.  And writes scathing blogposts to vent her frustrations after “alt runs” she should never have joined in the first place.

Is there a support group for this?

Entry filed under: WoW. Tags: .

Reflections of a Twilight Vanquisher Tremendously amused …

23 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cassini  |  March 10, 2009 at 9:09 am

    The simple (?) answer of course is to not heal them out of combat. They’d get the message soon enough! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. T-Sonn  |  March 10, 2009 at 9:44 am

    Support group? Yes, it’s called “Let ‘Em Die” and meets after each pull. And like all good Whatever Anonymous groups, we serve free [Black Coffee].

    Reply
  • 3. Kestrel  |  March 10, 2009 at 10:05 am

    I’ll throw a CoH (if my health is down) or a Holy Nova, and a few Renews. Other than that, I want to be sure my mana is full. You didn’t bring heal food, Mr. DK? Too bad :p.

    Reply
  • 4. Lewis  |  March 10, 2009 at 10:39 am

    Sit down and drink. When they pull at 40% health and people start keeling over and ask “WTF? wherez mah haelz?”, explain to them that you were at 25% mana from healing them out of combat so you had to stop and drink, and next time they can grab a quick snack unless they want this to happen again. I know people want to run the content faster and faster, but there’s a point where “fast” becomes “too fast,” and it sounds like you were reaching it. (And I’m a tank saying this.)

    BTW, if any of those DKs were Blood in particular, they have NO EXCUSE standing around with their undead thumb up their undead patootie waiting for green glowy goodness. It’s called Rune Tap, duh. USE IT. Every little bit helps and you’ll get that Blood rune back in 10 seconds.

    Reply
  • 5. Matticus  |  March 10, 2009 at 10:43 am

    Ahhh, welcome to my life. Let me teach you two phrases that have served me well as a healer. Remember that when you’re healing, you get a little extra weight. Not only that, the group can only move as fast as the slowest person. And like it or not, healers are generally the slowest to ready up.

    “Hold the pull!”
    *chug, chug, chug, chug*
    “OK, go!”

    However, the other healers and I figured out a shift system. I sorta split our healers into two groups. One healing group heals the first two trash pulls and then doubles back to drink. Healing group two then moves up and covers the raid while the first group drinks up. I’ve had some success with that on the 25s. Would require a bit more risk on the 10s and it’s a little less forgiving if something happens.

    Reply
  • 6. Jacob  |  March 10, 2009 at 11:34 am

    My decision on whether or not to top people off depends on my mana condition. If I have plenty of mana, I toss heals to keep things moving quickly. If I’m low enough to need to drink, I expect the others to eat.

    For extra fun, wait until you meet the warlock who ends the fight at full health and no mana, then runs to the next fight will full health, and then lifetaps health down to zero just seconds before the tank pulls.

    Reply
  • 7. dorgol  |  March 10, 2009 at 1:42 pm

    I use opportunities like that to TOTALLY pad my healing. Spamming glyphed Holy Light into the middle of them with Beacon on someone else!

    Reply
  • 8. Ambrosyne  |  March 10, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    I’m lucky-the MT is often the man behind me, and I can threaten to whack him one if he pulls when I’m not ready.

    But welcome to the World of the Angry Healer.
    /hands over membership card

    Reply
  • 9. Nibuca  |  March 10, 2009 at 2:29 pm

    Out of combat you are responsible ONLY for your health and the health of the tank. Death is a good teacher.

    Reply
  • 10. Brent  |  March 10, 2009 at 2:55 pm

    Honestly, welcome to being a healer. And don’t tell me that as a warlock, you didn’t finish a pull and just go tap-tap-tappity-tap, and *expect* to be healed back up to full. You may not have done it every time, but I’m yet to find the warlock who never taps out of combat without already having hots on them.

    People expect you to heal them. But as Matticus said, they also have to expect to wait for you to get mana when you do. Use your ability to anchor the raid speed but highlight why. “Sorry I’m taking so long, just that everyone was half dead after the pull so I had to burn all my mana, gimme 30 secs will ya.”

    Reply
  • 11. Elleiras  |  March 10, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    Funny you should mention that, Brent.

    There’s been a rule in my guild since our very first Karazhan run, when Keaton (boyfriend, feral druid and raid leader extraordinaire!) absolutely forbade our healers to heal me out of combat … and me to drink. >.>

    Why? Because as a bear tank, he took great (and somewhat possessive) pleasure in healing all of my Lifetaps! It actually became a game to see who could get the first heal on me after a Lifetap, if only to set the bear to crying “I’mma cut you!” It wasn’t long before other classes decided to play too, so I’d frequently have rogues and hunters bandaging me after a pull and mages sneaking me stacks of biscuits. Once, a shadow priest ran halfway across the world to bring me water and band-aids when I was running lowbie alts through Shadowfang Keep!

    So, no, I don’t drink after a pull. It makes my bear cry. 😉

    Reply
  • 12. Elleiras  |  March 10, 2009 at 5:20 pm

    @Cassini – I tried that. 😦 They pulled anyway … so I was left with the choice of healing them or not healing them (and therefore wiping with them). I have yet to master the art of staying out of combat when the rest of my raid decides to go all Leeroy.

    @T-Sonn – Mmm, coffee.

    @Kestral – hehe. I actually traded some salted venison to a tank last night. I think he got the hint, because he sat down to eat while I stood around pointedly /tapping my foot at him.

    @Lewis – You sound like the kind of tank I love to heal! Great advice, thanks.

    @Matticus – I think that’s what we do in 25’s, albeit informally. Some of the healers heal, some drink, and everyone is happy. 🙂

    @Jacob – I hope I never become *that* lock, lol. Because my first character was a warlock, I’m super-attentive to locks in my group and often cast pre-emptive HoTs on them if I think they need to cast. It absolutely breaks my heart when they don’t notice.

    @drogol – That’s a really good way of looking at it. I think if I hadn’t been in a group of undergeared, underskilled alts who were still high on their Sarth 3D kill and thinking they were utterly invincible … I could have been more philisophical about it too.

    @Amber – Yeah, Keaton knows better (usually!). I know I’m spoiled by having my very own pet tank. But thanks for the card. 😉

    @Nibuca – If only I could tell Chain Heal not to jump to stupid melee DPSers who stand in The Bad and refuse to eat. That would be won-der-ful… *dreams*

    Reply
  • 13. Tara  |  March 10, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    I get especially irritated when we have a mage make a nice table. Then they really have no excuse not to eat, it’s not costing them a single copper! I, too, am a card-carrying angry healer.

    Reply
  • 14. Veneretio  |  March 10, 2009 at 11:50 pm

    I feel like I’m walking into the Lion’s den, but here goes…

    To add a tank’s perspective, I get irritated at my healers if I have to sit and eat food after a pull because I expect to be at full health at the end of each pull. Which isn’t to say I don’t monitor my healers mana, I certainly do, but I definitely refuse to wait for full mana before every single pull.

    I will continue to chain pull trash as long as my healers are sitting above about 40% mana. Pulls simply should never, ever take that long that a healer can burn through their entire mana bar. Yes, I understand that healers can burn through that if for some reason a 2nd pack of adds shows up, but then that’s where we use cooldowns and potions. (by which I mean not only healers do this, but tanks and dpsers as well)

    I’ve raided with a lot of different groups and to be perfectly honest, what you have experienced here is a very normal part of standard raid practice. Healers are just expected to heal the entire group. It’s why Matt talks about taking turns drinking and what not.

    I think you’ll find that this reality isn’t quite so frustrating once you’ve got stronger gear. I chain pull all of Naxx and never once do I get asked to stop by a healer unless a particularly ugly pull has happened. Even Rezzing, I don’t wait for. I just expect the rezzor to stay out of combat.

    Suffice to say, speed is essential to getting stuff done in a timely fashion and for a lot of us, we just don’t like spending a long time in an instance… so this is how we play.

    Reply
  • 15. kyrilean  |  March 11, 2009 at 6:36 am

    I’m petty. My healing between pulls depends on how much I like the person. Stupid I know, but my liking a person is usually dependant on how much I think they prepare as well. Someone who just died and is eating buff food, I’ll top off to get him/her up faster. Someone who charges in each pull regardless of where s/he stands or aggros…

    @ dorgol – I might be wrong, but I don’t think Recount or other meters records out of combat heals. If that’s true, you can’t pad the heals.

    Reply
  • 16. Elleiras  |  March 11, 2009 at 8:04 am

    @Veneretio – I think you missed the context. The paladin and I were healing a group of undergeared, underskilled alts through OS10 1D. This wasn’t a nice, fast guild run; this was a group of (mostly) healers and casters attempting to brute strength an “easy” instance as Death Knights, ret paladins and warriors … when just they didn’t have the brute stength (let alone the health pools, the dps, the threat generation or — in most cases — the experience at raiding as melee classes) to do it.

    Our real tanks can and do chain pull raids, and I have no problem with it. The only time I dipped below 70% mana in Naxx-25 last night was when I died on a trash pull and jumped back into healing with only my water shield and an innervate (lol) to get me back up again. I assure you, the issue wasn’t my gear; I wouldn’t be complaining about other players if it were.

    Reply
  • 17. Veneretio  |  March 11, 2009 at 12:12 pm

    I think you’re right that I missed a part of the context. I think also did a poor job of making my point. I think it is a healer’s job to heal the tanks to full even once combat has ended or more to the point, I expect to end combat at basically full health. If that’s not the case, something is going wrong.

    What is going wrong very easily can be DPS taking too much damage so heals are spread too thin which is either due to DPS stupidity or poor mob positioning. (like Tanks leaving adds beside those fireballs causing an unnecessary amount of healing to be required on everyone for no reason) Where I get irritated though is when it’s due to healers reactively healing a lot so rather than bouncing between 100% and 75% throughout a pull, I’m bouncing between 75% and 25% and thus, ending a pull in the mid-health range. If that’s happening, I’m simply not getting enough healing focus as a tank. (This is a big pet peeve of mine)

    Regardless of what is going wrong above, I expect to be at full health not by eating. It’s so much more efficient for a healer to toss me a quick heal and a HoT than for me to sitting around twiddling my thumbs. Most importantly though, it’s dangerous for me to be at half health. (which is why having to eat is another pet peeve of mine) If there’s an accidental pull, I can accomplish a lot with a full health pool and cooldowns. If I’m sitting at half health though, I’ll be able to accomplish next to nothing and a wipe is almost ensured.

    That being said, I definitely missed the part in your post where you said they weren’t even waiting for mana on Drakes. That is ridiculous. It seems the major issue here is that even if you would have topped them off that you’d have so little mana that it’s no longer about speed and is instead about people being reckless. That’s totally unacceptable is most definitely a failure on the tank’s fault in properly pacing the run.

    So, I hope that gives you some insight into what I was really trying to say and that you’ll forgive me for kinda jumping on your rant out of context.

    Reply
  • 18. Red  |  March 12, 2009 at 11:11 am

    Speaking as a fellow officer/raid leader, I think it’s perfectly ridiculous for your DPS to NOT eat/drink/bandage between pulls (and yes, DKs have absolutely no excuse w/ their self-healing abilities). That’s just unacceptable laziness (or ill-prepared) with the expectation to be “carried” and still rewarded loot/emblems. It shouldn’t matter whether they are alts or not – they have raided on their mains and thus the player behind the character should know how raiding works.

    Matticus’ suggestion, which I have used before, is sound but harder to do w/ an undergeared alt group. Personally I call them out on Vent, “XYZ, why are you standing w/ half health? Our mages made that table for a reason.” If the tank keep pulling early or DPS pulls aggro, simply refuse to heal and let them die. If they can’t figure it out even after one or two 80g+ repair bills, you got bigger issues IMHO.

    And BTW, welcome to the Angry Healer Club. I am a card-carrying member myself.

    Reply
  • 19. Elleiras  |  March 12, 2009 at 11:59 am

    @Veneretio – No worries! I appreciate the perspective. 🙂 And, in general, I agree: if the tank ends the pull at half health, then something *has* gone wrong. Believe me, there was a lot of “wrong” happening in this disaster of an OS10 run, lol.

    I do have to say … if a tank I was healing refused to eat after a bad pull out of sheer stubborness, I would probably make a point of not healing him again. There are times when it’s more expedient for me to top the group off so we can hit the ground running, and other times when everyone has taken damage and I’ve expended most (if not all) of my mana healing and rezzing. In those times, anyone who who decides to stand around with a little sliver of health and wait for the chain heals is going to be sorely disappointed!

    @Kyrilean – It’s only petty if they notice. And even then, blame the tank. 😉

    (Kidding, Veneretio. Kidding.)

    That actually reminds me of an incident a couple of Naxxes ago. Our survival hunter wasn’t paying attention, and backed into a pat … so our resto shaman threw a Riptide and some LHW’s on her to keep her up while the tanks charged to the rescue.

    Naturally, she feigned death so he pulled healing aggro and got his face chewed on.

    … I think he’s in the club now, too …

    @Tara – Glad to be in such good company!

    Reply
  • 20. Leah  |  March 14, 2009 at 11:26 pm

    new commenter here (and this will teach me to skip blogs, just because they don’t seem to be coverign a class I’m playing at this time – I thought this was a warlock blog 😛 )

    welcome to the angry healer club. while by day I’m a hunter, by night I’m a resto shaman and most recently – holy priest.

    while I do believe in topping off the raid to make pulling faster WHEN POSSIBLE, I’m also starting to positively hate warlocks who tap after casting only couple of spells (so they are still at about 80% mana), tanks who pull while I’m still drinking – usualy the same taks who insist on eating avoidable damage like poison on the ground or pounds/dark smashes, etc. I’m starting to hate dpsers who are too focused on trying to top the charts to get the zombies in CoT4 off my squishy back (I don’t mind it as much on a shaman, because at least I can plop down a magma totem – as a priest with a glyphed holy nova for emergency spamable group heals, I need someone to protect me), or dpsers who refuse to get out out of stationary hurty things, but if I let them die – then trash doesnt, so I have to scramble and chain cast heals so that I’m out of mana on every single pull and oh my god its turning into a rant of my own 😛

    /deep breath

    Ever since rolling a healer not only have I realized why there are so few of us around, but I’ve also realized why so many of us are so grumpy and why you have a few guilds where healers are plentiful, while most guilds that are perpetualy recruiting healers.

    Reply
  • 21. Leah  |  March 14, 2009 at 11:28 pm

    PS. ever since playing I healer – my feign death button is of limits if for some reason I manage to actualy pull aggro. I’ve gottem much better at kiting though 😛

    Reply
  • 22. kyrilean  |  March 16, 2009 at 5:39 am

    @ Leah – it restores my faith when someone’s converted. 🙂

    Reply
  • 23. Gonna Go When The Volcano Blows! « Fel Fire  |  March 18, 2009 at 5:19 pm

    […] Tauren shaman, serenely communing with the elements, into a card-carrying member of the Angry Healers Club?  What I neglected to mention was that immediately after we pulled Sartharion, our sole non-alt […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Recent Posts

Contact Me?

elleiras@gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 150,632 hits

