I’m not ususally one to /pout about loot …

March 17, 2009 at 10:47 pm 7 comments

Sad shaman is sad ... and unarmed.

… but awarding Angry Dread to an undergeared rogue on his very first Naxx-25 — when I’ve been scrambling to put together an enhancement set before 3.1, and still have Crimson Cranium Crusher for a Main Hand — may have broken my heart a little bit tonight.  I lost Crimson Steel to him last week too, in that disaster of an alt OS10 PuG.

QQ.

Entry filed under: WoW. Tags: , , .

Delusional bear is … delusional. Gonna Go When The Volcano Blows!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. BobTurkey  |  March 17, 2009 at 10:57 pm

    Been there.

    The player who turns up once and lucks out on the roll on the item you’ve been raiding forever for. You die a little bit… but you get over it quick enough.

    Reply
  • 2. spinks  |  March 18, 2009 at 1:24 am

    Ah, tell me about it! Someone in our alliance ran a retro raid to Hyjal on Monday, I wasn’t planning on going but I was asked to take my level 70 druid because they were desperately short of healers (and someone remembered that she had some T5/badge gear).

    Then they gave the T6 set drops to people for RP. I do think that if you lean on people to take their low level healer alts so YOU can do some sightseeing, you could at least let them grab any upgrades.

    Reply
  • 3. Red  |  March 18, 2009 at 7:55 am

    Sorry to hear about the loot; this happened to me a lot back in BC.

    What loot distribution system does your guild use? Is there some sort of priority, i.e. mains > alt > offspec?

    Reply
  • 4. The Renaissance Man  |  March 18, 2009 at 9:31 am

    I lost the first drop of Essence of Gossamer to a rogue’s PvP set. I had to kill Hadronox 10 more times before another one dropped. My character has a footlocker full of Grotto Mist Gloves he kept hidden in the basement.

    Reply
  • 5. Elleiras  |  March 18, 2009 at 10:07 am

    @BobTurkey – Wise words from the fair fowl. 😉 I decided this morning that the fastest way to cure my disappointment is to actually spec enhancement for a raid … or, more realistically, half a wing of Naxx-25. By the third or fourth time I die to whirlwinding trash mob because I have never not been a ranged healie or castie type, I’ll probably be racing to the nearest vendor to unload my almost-epic enhancement set …

    @Sprinks – As someone who almost turned down the current BiS resto gloves last night because they “didn’t match” my Valorous set (/cringe), I’m not one to underestimate the value of pretty clothes! That said … I think it’s seriously lame that the level 80’s in the raid (who obviously have no in-game use for T6 at this point) wouldn’t have passed it to the resto druid who could (1) actually use it! and (2) joined the raid solely to bail them out. I’m sorry that happened to you.

    @Red – We use EPGP, with a main > offspec > alt priority … so the mace *should* have gone to the rogue’s main spec over my offspec. It just stung because immediately after he bid “need,” he said on Vent that he wasn’t sure he would ever use it but hated to see it go to waste. (Our bids are open, so I know he saw mine!) It’s a BiS offhand for an enhancement shaman (unless you can DW Calamity’s Grasp, which we’ve never seen drop) and of dubious utility to a rogue … so after carrying him through so much content to catch him up to the rest of the raid on gear, it was a bit of a slap in the face. I’m mostly over it now; last night, I was kind of crushed.

    @The Renaissance Man – I *so* feel that pain. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve run Heroic AN with my boyfriend/feral druid, trying to snag him an Essence of Gossamer. I have enough Egg Sac Robes to deck out every roleplayer in Spinks’ retro Hyjal raid, but have yet to see that damned trinket once.

    On the plus side, everyone in my guild has Watch Him Die and Hadronox denied at this point (thanks to our marathon AN runs), so once it finally drops, I never have to go back again.

    Reply
  • 6. Elleiras  |  March 18, 2009 at 8:09 pm

    He opened a ticket to transfer it to me. o.o

    Badsword, do you read my blog?! … If so, I’m sorry I doubted you.

    Reply
  • 7. Red  |  March 19, 2009 at 10:47 am

    Glad to hear about the transfer. Kudos to the rogue and grats on the mace!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Recent Posts

Contact Me?

elleiras@gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 150,486 hits

