Gonna Go When The Volcano Blows!

March 18, 2009 at 5:15 pm 6 comments

I bring the wineRemember that disaster of an “alt” OS10 run that transformed me from a mild-mannered Tauren shaman, serenely communing with the elements, into a card-carrying member of the Angry Healers Club?  What I neglected to mention was that immediately after we pulled Sartharion, our sole non-alt DPS — a Death Knight who never fails to “win Recount” — committed suicide-by-lava.

I can’t say that I blame him, to be honest.  I was /wrists-ing at several friends in a private chat channel at the time, too.

… or, rather, I couldn’t say that I blamed him … until I realized why he did it …

It wasn’t because the tanks were inconsiderate, incompetent and, well, plural.  (Why did we bring three of them, again?  /boggle)

It wasn’t because raid DPS was so ridiculously slow that we started asking each other if Sartharion had an enrage timer.

It wasn’t even because the healers were snarling-mad (although we were).

No.  He committed suicide to cheese the achievement.  Apparently, the game doesn’t recognize the difference between dying before you’re hit by a volcano and defeating Sartharion without being hit by any volcanos at all … provided that the other nine-tenths of the raid is able to down him, of course.  

Which we did. 

Eventually. 

Painfully. 

With much gnashing of the teeth, tearing of the hair and general QQ.

So in the end, our sole DPS main earned (/cough) his 10 achievement points, our feckless alts walked away with gear and badges, and I spent the next few days commiserating with Angry Healers everywhere.  (Yay, blogfodder.) 

Win-win, right?

not if you asked the other healer in the run, the holy-turned-ret-turned-holy-again paladin who was the Light to my Lasers that night.  He was absolutely furious that the Death Knight took a dive, especially since it forced the two of us work that much harder to keep the rest of the raid alive (and thus miss out on the achievement ourselves).

I understand where he was coming from, of course.  I wasn’t mad myself (the Death Knight announced before accepting the raid invite that he was going to die in a fire; we just kind of assumed that he was joking…) but that’s probably because I was already frustrated to the verge of tears by ten other things.  One more would have pushed me over the edge from angry into homicidal.

I kind of shrugged it off at the time, /pat‘d the paladin on his jet-blue shoulders and wrote the entire night off as a “learning experience” (as in, I learned never to subject myself to that again!).

So why do I bring all of this up again?  Am I that hard up for things to write about?

… Yes, but that’s thoroughly beside the point.

You see, late, late last night — after working on Sarth 3D (Lite Edition) for an hour or so and realizing that we just didn’t have the right group for it — we decided to assassinate the Twilight drakes one-by-one and then take on Sarth, which would give everyone who didn’t have the achievement yet an opportunity to practice volcano-dodging in a relatively stress-free environment.  (Because, believe me, a lava wall and some fire elementals are a nice walk in the Sepulcher compared to all of The Bad® that Sarth 3D has going on!)

So, no Of The Nightfall for me this week. 

But no volcano-spew, either! 

Without throwing myself into the jaws of the dragon — or letting any of my precious little Grid-boxlets go out! — Gonna Go When The Volcano Blows is one more Glory of the Raider achievement checked off my list. 

/flex

The hands-down best part was that the Angry Paladin got it too, which inspired him to forgive the Death Knight (it’s easy to forgive someone when you can feel superior to them — such as for earning an achievement legitimately that they had to exploit).  I never have to listen to him cry in /officer chat about it again!

… Still, the entire incident has me thinking about Tarsus’s excellent No Faith in Achievements post in a whole new light.  I don’t necessarily agree that achievements are pointless, although I certainly wish they were: their only real value comes from keeping my guildmembers interested in the game at a time that we’re all bored out of our minds.  If the raids themselves presented more of a challenge, then the gimmicky raid achievements wouldn’t feel like such a necessary evil.

Entry filed under: WoW. Tags: , , , .

I’m not ususally one to /pout about loot … “Casual” is not a four-letter word

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tessy  |  March 19, 2009 at 1:10 am

    The DK killed himself off, letting the rest of you work hard to get through the fight without his dps, to get an achievement? An achievement you earned for him? Did I understand this correctly?

    Meh, what an asshat!

    Would have been hilarious if you had realised what he was doing at the time and you all had joined him in the lava bath – “what are you doing down here all of you??” – “getting the achievement, you go up there and start fighting!!” 😀

    And congratulations to getting the achievement without failing your fellow guildies!

    Although I think many of the dungeon achievements are really boring since they seem to be saying that brute-forcing everything is the way to go, I also think it is kinda fun to try to get achievements by “beating the game” and “clever use of game mechanics” (what some like to call exploits), but I wouldn’t want my fellow guildies to carry me through an achievement like this.

    Reply
  • 2. The Renaissance Man  |  March 19, 2009 at 5:26 am

    It could have been worse. At least it was only a DPS. A couple of weeks ago, I had a pug Prot Pally OTing for me in OS10. We clear all the drakes with no problem, but when we come to Sarth, the moment I pull, he DIs the lowest DPS and starts screaming at our rogue to TotT and fan of knives. I wound up having to tank Sarth and a half dozen fire elementals. But what made it great was that we stretched out the fight longer than the 6 minute corpse release timer, and when he got auto punted, the RL kicked him.

    Reply
  • 3. The Renaissance Man  |  March 19, 2009 at 5:28 am

    Also, Sarth does indeed have an enrage timer. 15 minutes. Thankfully, I’ve never lived to see it.

    Reply
  • 4. Tarsus  |  March 19, 2009 at 5:46 am

    Wow, that has got to be a new level of self-centered-ness. I will admit that when I wrote “No Faith in Achievements” I wasn’t even thinking of something like this but it’s a whole new low I hadn’t even considered.

    My condolences.

    Reply
  • 5. Ambrosyne  |  March 19, 2009 at 12:17 pm

    I want an official Angry Healer Club logo, or something.

    …anyone around here have any photoshop skillz?

    Reply
  • 6. Leah  |  March 19, 2009 at 4:22 pm

    ooooh, people like him make me so angry! (as my guild leader can attest, seeing as he’s often the person end up ranting to :P)

    the vindictive me would ask people to wipe the attemt, just to spite him. I’d even offer to pay everyone’s repair bills (other then his). you want your achievement? you’ll just have to work for it.

    the annoyed me would bench him for the next several raids. personal achievements are no reason to jeopardize 9 other people’s game. there are plenty of solo achievements one can do without being carried.

    Incidentaly – I have that achievement. for some reason, I only have it on my hunter (even though I don’t actualy lose my ability to move out of lava strikes, just by switching characters). And I’m very very proud that I got it by staying alive through the entirety of the fight and pew pewing my heart off 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Recent Posts

Contact Me?

elleiras@gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 150,486 hits

