The Undying is not fun.

March 23, 2009 at 10:50 pm 6 comments

angel

Rohan has an excellent post about this achievement.  In it he, he says everything I’d love to say right now but can’t because after shaking like a leaf for the last three hours because I was completely and utterly terrified that I would be the one to ruin it for my Naxx-10 group, and then losing our fury warrior to a some bizarre combination of server lag and an iceblock in the last six seconds of Kel’thuzad’s (un)life …

I have no words of my own.  None.  At all. 

This achievement is. not. fun.  It is nerve-wracking and guilt-producing and every bit as much about luck and lag and RNG as it is skill and control.  I don’t care how close we were; I never want to attempt it again. 

/still shaking

Entry filed under: WoW. Tags: .

Soloing Don Carlos as an Enhancement Shaman To raid, or not to raid …

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. spinks  |  March 24, 2009 at 12:18 am

    *vibes* The best attempt we had at Undying failed due to 2 unlucky disconnects at Kel’ Thuzad. I feel your pain.

    But I dunno about you, but when you get that close, I feel that you morally beat the achievement.

    Reply
  • 2. Fear.Win  |  March 24, 2009 at 5:50 am

    OT getting Ice Blocked during KT is pure loss.. I hate it.

    I noticed they changed the Undying, Part Two for Ulduar to “defeat all bosses in Ulduar without dying but does not need to be during the same lockout period.” and was kind of hoping they’d do the same for Naxx.. but I guess thats kind of a cop-out.

    Reply
  • 3. *vlad*  |  March 24, 2009 at 6:04 am

    I’ve had almost the exact same experience as you; ie losing somone on Kel with a minute to go.
    The big difference is, we shrugged our shoulders and did’nt worry about it too much.

    I really think this ought to be changed to your character not dying, rather than the whole raid not dying.
    I have got a full clear of Naxx on a number of occasions without dying myself, but somehow I am to blame for someone else lagging at Heigan and dying? I don’t think so.
    I did my job, so why can’t I be rewarded for that?

    As for The Immortal, grats to those lucky enough to have 25 stable connections.

    Reply
  • 4. Pike  |  March 24, 2009 at 6:50 am

    I don’t ever want to attempt that achievement, ever. I feel wracked with guilt enough when I die when we’re not going for it (did I mention I suck at raiding? I suck at raiding. I die all the time. I do it anyway cause I love it.)

    Reply
  • 5. Elleiras  |  March 24, 2009 at 8:16 am

    @Sprinks – I’d love to agree, but — alas! Moral victories don’t award plagued protodrake mounts. 😦 I’m not too focused on one myself (my twilight drake means so much more to me, because it was a gift from my guild; I can’t imagine replacing it), but several of the players in my 10-man group really, really want one … and time is running out. As a healer, the death falls at least 50% on me, so I can’t help but feel I let the entire group down. I’m sure they’ll be over it by the time we log on for tonight’s raid, but they were pretty crushed yesterday.

    @Fear.Win – I was hoping for that, too. Given that they’ve retroactively changed meta-achievements before, I wouldn’t be shocked (surprised, but not shocked) if they changed this one at the last minute too. It makes me wonder if we shouldn’t prioritize Naxx 8 over the Undying in whatever time we have left.

    … or maybe that’s just me not wanting to attempt this again. >.>

    @vlad – Hear, hear. The #1 Horde guild on my server actually refuses to attempt The Immortal, for that reason. They’ve taken a lot of flak for it from the forum trolls (and aren’t the most sympathetic of protagonists for a host of other reasons), but I definitely can see their point.

    I’m glad The Undying, Part Two/The Immortal, Part Two will span lockout periods. That seems much more reasonable.

    @Pike – It’s really not worth it. The raid itself was wonderfully smooth: controlled and efficient, with excellent communication on Vent and the kind of focused determination we very seldom bring to 10-man “shardfests” these days. It would have been a joy … if we hadn’t been so stressed out about the achievement!

    I agree with Rohan and Panzercow: it should be something we try for everytime, insofar that everyone should always bring their “A”-game and do their level best (farm content or otherwise).

    But things like honest mistakes, server lag and random disconnects shouldn’t have the power to make or break your night, and the achievement gives it to them. Bow-tied and gift-wrapped.

    There’s a shadow priest in my guild who looks around Dalaran at all the raiders running around with the Undying title, and bemoans that he isn’t as good as them because he doesn’t have it. That’s so not true. I’ve seen him push 5K DPS for half of a bossfight and drop out of shadowform at a moment’s notice to help heal when after our holy priest ate an iceblock and the resto shaman wasn’t quick enough to keep him on her own. That’s good! Suffering from an unlucky bit of server lag that causes heals worth 150% of a warrior’s health to land *after he dies* does not make anyone “bad.”

    /ranting again.

    I’ll stop now. Thanks for the comments and sympathy, all. ❤

    Reply
  • 6. Aleathea  |  March 25, 2009 at 7:12 pm

    The Undying. Last night my raiders wanted to try for it, so we did. Last boss, of the last wing, last 1% health .. and the Main Tank goes down. I literally died 5 seconds before the boss. They say it’s not your fault … but it’s hard not to feel that way when it was you who were the one who died and ruined it for everyone else.

    In our case it was an actual death that ended it for us, but there were numerous close calls due to untimely disconnects, server lag and other factors completely out of our control. If you took all these factors out, it would be a true test of skill. Until then, it’s more about getting lucky than anything.

    I felt pretty miserable after last night’s failure. Somehow, after reading your post, I felt a little better. Maybe it just goes to show that misery loves company, or perhaps it’s the knowledge that I’m not the only one out there who hates this achievement right now. At any rate, thank you for sharing your experience and giving me a place to share mine.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Recent Posts

Contact Me?

elleiras@gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 150,839 hits

