The Undying still isn’t fun … but I never have to do it again!

March 30, 2009 at 3:25 pm 5 comments

As of last night, I am officially Liluye the Undying.  And believe me, the last five seconds of Kel’Thuzad’s (un)life were the most nerve-wracking of my entire WoW career! 

In that short span of time, a void fissure spawned beneath our MT’s paws and the second-squishiest member of the raid suffered from an untimely case of Iwishiwasamage-itis.  Fortunately, Keaton /danced out of the fissure like the amazing trained circus bear that he is, and we spammed heals on our iceblocked ‘lock … and because they are awesome, our deliberately-stacked-for-ranged-DPS DPS group managed to burst Kel’Thuzad down before P4 started. 

(In P4, Arthas takes pity on KT and sends a Feral Lag Monster to Naxxramas.  Affectionately known as Bob5, the Feral Lag Monster casts a stacking debuff on the entire raid, increasing the likelihood that afflicted raiders will freeze up, lag out or be randomly disconnected and ported to their hearthstone’s bind point.  Or Crossroads.)

I’ve suffered through my share of 1% wipes and been solely responsible for more 2%-99% wipes than I can count, but the Undying is a uniquely stressful experience in that there are absolutely no do-overs. 

Die in a doomfire and spoonfeed a soul-charge to Archimonde?  Apologize to the raid, toss a few gold in the guild vault to cover repairs … and try again.  

Flail around in a panic and loose constructs on the raid?  Run back, screw around with the simulator during the inevitable post-wipe /afk’s, resolve to never again be that guy … and try again.

But mistime a heal on the iceblocked fury warrior, lag out on Heigan, neglect to turn your spell detail back up before Grobbulus or forget to switch from Seal of Blood to Seal of Command before Gluth’s Decimate?  Congratulations!  You just wasted the week-long reset for nine other people.  Even if they’re really understanding about it (and my guildies are! <3), it’s still an awful feeling.  Trust me, I know.  (I was #1 and #3 on that list. >.>)

Don’t get me wrong: I’m thrilled to have the title and be one Naxx-8 and a Sarth 10-3D away from my Glory of the Raider meta-achievement (not to mention a swifter-than-very-swift ride).  But I stand by what I wrote last time.  This is a horrible achievement, based as much on luck as skill, and I couldn’t happier that it’s being re-worked for Ulduar.

Entry filed under: WoW. Tags: , , .

Honest … what? Well, that’s cryptic …

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tartdarling  |  March 30, 2009 at 4:58 pm

    Gratzie! I wish that I could go for The Undying on my priesty, but I help run the NubSauce fresh 80 and audition Naxx run for my guild so the chance are slim to none that I’ll ever get it lol.

    And on an Unrelated: I work for Global Foods (we are rather small so it’s likely that you haven’t heard of us though lol)

    Reply
  • 2. spinks  |  March 30, 2009 at 9:35 pm

    Yay, congrats!

    Reply
  • 3. Sibyll  |  March 31, 2009 at 7:27 am

    Congrats!

    Hope to follow you one day .. ONE day, haha 😉

    Reply
  • 4. Tigerfeet  |  March 31, 2009 at 8:56 am

    CONGRATULATIONS!

    You described the stress and exultation of that fight PERFECTLY. I remember when we did it, I wasn’t aware of the last 5% on KT because I was tanking bugs and very desperately keeping an eye out for a void zone under me (they’re hard to see with giant bugs all up in my face) and praying desperately that I didn’t get ice-blocked (big bugs +ice block = dead bear)

    But as soon as KT dropped there was a rush of exultation over vent, screams, hurrahs, and assurances all around that yes, we were all shaking. I think I cried a little.

    I’m glad the achievement is being re-worked for Ulduar, but I wouldn’t trade the experience of getting THIS achievement done for the world.

    Reply
  • 5. Aleathea  |  March 31, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    Heh, “Bob5 the Feral Lag Master” – I’ll remember that one.

    Congratulations on the achievement. That really is one to be proud of. Well done.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Recent Posts

Contact Me?

elleiras@gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 150,481 hits

