Well, that’s cryptic …

March 30, 2009 at 4:16 pm 7 comments

With the notable exception of Keaton, none of my guildmembers are aware that I blog.  At least, I think they aren’t.  One of my hunters is a frequent commenter over at Gevlon‘s place and occasionally Drotara’s, but I doubt he’s followed the links back to me yet.  (Or if he has, he’s been discreet about it, which I appreciate.) 

On the other hand, I do know that at least one of my guildmembers also maintains a WoW blog, which he updates infrequently enough that I recently removed it from my blogroll.  Nonetheless, I’m scratching my head over his most recent post, which just went up today:

Geez. Louise.

Can someone please give me a home?  I need to find a good server.

I know he loathes the PvP server culture, and has tried at least once before to make a home elsewhere.  I’m (selfishly) hoping that’s what this is about, because I’d hate to think I missed some bit of guild drama that could be driving him away.  I thought we were back on an even keel, but who knows what happens when I’m not online.

Then again, if it is guild-related, then it’s at least something we can work on — in contrast to the over-arching server culture, which is beyond all hope of redemption.  I wouldn’t blame anyone for wanting to transfer off; if I weren’t so invested in my guild, I would too!   You know things are bad when the #1 Horde guild on the server hosts trade-channel PuG’s for nothing more than the dubious joy of ninja-looting all of the drops to guildmembers who don’t need them (and, in many cases, can’t equip them) over PuG’s who do, and then mocking anyone who dares to complain about it in trade chat and on the realm forum.

Anyway, I can’t comment on his blog because it’s blocked at work, but I’ll make a point of talking to him tonight.  In the meantime, I’ll just … obssess quietly over it, I guess.

/sadface

Entry filed under: WoW. Tags: .

The Undying still isn’t fun … but I never have to do it again! A Birthday Present for Amber … kind of.

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. BobTurkey  |  March 30, 2009 at 4:52 pm

    Yeah gotta be careful what you post on your blog or be prepared for the flow on effects.

    A couple of times there has been interesting guild drama in my guild, but then I think, well if it was me would I want someone else in the guild writing about it? Even without names?

    Reply
  • 2. Elleiras  |  March 30, 2009 at 5:03 pm

    That’s something I struggle with, too. On one hand, I’m very hesitant to write about my guild. Every time I do, I wonder (and worry!) how someone in it would react to what I’ve written. On the other hand, I use my blog to vent, or to work through problems and solicit feedback from the community. If I made a point of not talking about my guild in my blog, then it would be (1) boring, and (2) not particularly useful to me.

    I’m sure there’s a happy medium somewhere; it’s just a matter of finding it!

    In the meantime, I try to maintain a one-sided anonymity (i.e., hiding my blog from my guild, but not hiding my identity from my readers — if that makes any sense?).

    I’ve been slipping at it lately. 😦

    Reply
  • 3. Liore  |  March 30, 2009 at 8:06 pm

    Although my guildies are all swell folks, I am a little sorry now that I made my blog such public knowledge. Sometimes I’d like to write about concerns I have or nitty gritty guild management topics, but I’m afraid that they’ll take things out of context.

    Reply
  • 4. Tessy  |  March 31, 2009 at 1:14 am

    *joins the club*

    I started blogging partly to blow off steam from annoyances and irritations in the game (and because I like writing ofc!), but this makes it rather delicate when you are annoyed or irritated at someone/something in your guild. I have scrapped many articles because I wasn’t sure people if would see it as me venting or if they would feel attacked.

    My guild knows that I blog and many of my guildies comment quite frequently, on the blog or in-game. When they asked me to join the officer’s I asked how they felt about me blogging about our guild, and they said it was cool. Well, so far I haven’t written anything really scathing, but I have some stuff bubbling and I’m not sure I can contain it much longer…

    Maybe I should start another blog, an anonymous one and get all the nasty stuff out of my system there, and keep all the flowery happy things on my usual one. But, meh, how fun would that be to read??

    Regarding your guildie, I can totally understand if he wants to move away from a PvP server. When I did move to a PvE server, after 2 years and 4 lvl 70’s on a PvP one, I felt like I came to heaven – aaah the peacefulness! 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. kadomi  |  March 31, 2009 at 1:16 am

    My guild knows that I blog, so twice now my rants have started drama bombs in my guild. Which made me really regret my rants. I have to be a lot more careful now.

    Reply
  • 6. Karthis  |  March 31, 2009 at 5:21 am

    You know things are bad when the #1 Horde guild on the server hosts trade-channel PuG’s for nothing more than the dubious joy of ninja-looting all of the drops to guildmembers who don’t need them (and, in many cases, can’t equip them) over PuG’s who do, and then mocking anyone who dares to complain about it in trade chat and on the realm forum.

    Is this sort of idiocy common on PvP realms, or is it just a special brand of stupidity that has infested your server? Yuck either way.

    Reply
  • 7. Fulguralis  |  March 31, 2009 at 6:41 am

    I’ve tried to be discrete about who I let into my blogging life when it comes to “in-guild”. Still, I haven’t exactly been anonymous either, so I know a few members read me, which means I just try to keep things fair when relating stories. I’ll tell my side and then make sure to point out that “I’m sure they have a valid point” in some way and really try to see it from their angle. This usually helps them know that I’m trying to understand… just usually failing and, as an officer, we all know its OUR fault not our member’s fault. Even so, its a tough line to toe.

    I don’t believe it completely leaving out my concerns though because, after all, it’s MY blog. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Recent Posts

Contact Me?

elleiras@gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 150,815 hits

