Working as intended?

April 15, 2009 at 9:11 pm 12 comments

Working as intended?

Undocumented change in the 3.1:  Target Dummies now have souls.

Entry filed under: WoW. Tags: , .

Public Service Announcement, or “Why I can’t make your glyph yet!” Highs and lows

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. oakleafwolf  |  April 15, 2009 at 10:22 pm

    LOTS of souls actually. You can fill your whole bag.

    Reply
  • 2. Elleiras  |  April 15, 2009 at 11:19 pm

    Oh, believe me, I did! I went from two or three to an entire bagfull in just a few casts. It was aMAzing!

    Reply
  • 3. Sibyll  |  April 16, 2009 at 4:01 am

    Haha, i thought it was a joke when a friend told it to me yesterday!
    Now i know what i will do later do get it done quick, hihi 😉

    Reply
  • 4. Fulguralis  |  April 16, 2009 at 9:40 am

    Yeah, I was lawling about this while doing some dummy testing as well. I’m not sure how I feel about it if they leave it…

    First of all, dummies having souls makes no sense.
    Secondly, anything having more than one soul makes no sense.
    However, they both add up to making shard farming a lot easier :-).

    Reply
  • 5. kyrilean  |  April 16, 2009 at 10:45 am

    Granted my lock is only level 17, so forgive me if this is a noob question. I thought a soul shard was only created when the target dies? The dummy never dies…you just keep attacking it…man my brain hurts.

    Reply
  • 6. Elleiras  |  April 16, 2009 at 11:37 am

    Blue changed the Drain Soul mechanic in 3.1. It now has a chance of proccing a soul shard on every tick, rather than simply upon death. 🙂

    This will be awesome for raiding warlocks! I remember when we were learning Archimonde, we were so hard up for soul shards that our dual-boxing rogue parked his Draenei warrior outside the instance portal so we could drain her on our way in after every wipe. ^.^ Granted, that was after three or four hours of deaths and no raid trash … but …

    ❤ the new Drain Soul!

    Reply
  • 7. Fear.Win  |  April 16, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    This is definitely easier than flying out to the nearest town that has high enough level mobs. Even easier with Glyph of Drain Soul =D.

    Reply
  • 8. kavika  |  April 16, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    How often are the shards forming for you guys? For me it was kind of random…I’d do a full cast of drain soul, and sometimes I’d get 3 or 4 shards, then other times I’d get just one 1. Plus, it seemed to be happening randomly throughout the channeling. Is this how it’s working for you guys?

    Reply
  • 9. Elleiras  |  April 16, 2009 at 3:59 pm

    Me too, kavika. I don’t know if anyone’s attempted to theorycraft it yet, but it feels like there’s a chance to proc on each tick (two, with Glyph of Drain Soul), and no internal cooldown.

    I wasn’t counting, but it felt like a half dozen or so channels was all it took to have my 28-slot bag (I haven’t upgraded, but I raid Affliction!) filled to brimming.

    Reply
  • 10. kyrilean  |  April 17, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    Wow it has a chance to proc on all ticks? I need to level my warlock…

    Reply
  • 11. Uaha  |  April 20, 2009 at 10:04 am

    The blues have also said they’re not taking the proc away on target dummies. So yay

    Reply
  • 12. TLC Thursday: Evil Be Thy Name - Sideshow & Syrana  |  April 23, 2009 at 5:02 am

    […] of Fel Fire found a new place to farm souls. —— Image courtesy of Kekremsi at Flickr :Achievements, Add new tag, Links, Patch […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Recent Posts

Contact Me?

elleiras@gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 150,546 hits

