90 Day Notice

June 1, 2009 at 12:35 pm 22 comments

I was working on another Random Updates-style post — and waxing poetic about Yogg-Saron’s tentacles — when I was called into an emergency meeting at work. 

Now, emergency meetings happen all the time when you work in the credit industry during a recession.  Half of the companies we sell to are on the verge of bankruptcy, if they aren’t already there.  I figured this was more of the same.  Another national account filing for Chapter 11, a multi-million dollar exposure to be verified, proofs of claims to be prepared …

Then I noticed that HR was at the table.

That is never a good sign.

So, it turns out that my position is moving to Rosemont, Illinois.

I am not.

I’m trying to come up with something more eloquent to say than fuck, but it isn’t working. 

;.;

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

<3 Raid flavored updates: two scoops of Yogg-Saron in a sugar cone.

22 Comments Add your own

  • 1. eidlhe  |  June 1, 2009 at 1:33 pm

    Ouch! Hope you find something else quickly

    Reply
  • 2. Tigerfeet  |  June 1, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    I’m so sorry 😦

    It probably doesn’t help yet, but Rosemont is one of the Chicago Suburbs, and I can honestly say I hated every moment while I was living there.

    Reply
  • 3. Andrew  |  June 1, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    I think “fuck” just about covers it. :/

    Move to soviet canuckistan…. we REALLY are a nice bunch.

    Reply
    • 4. Elleiras  |  June 2, 2009 at 7:09 am

      I’m tempted. Keaton was planning on moving here at the end of the year, but now … maybe I’ll extend the job search north.

      Although I’m not too sure about this “snow” thing that supposedly happens nine months out of the year. >.>

      Reply
  • 5. spinks  |  June 1, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    *vibes* Sorry to hear that

    Reply
  • 6. Berry  |  June 1, 2009 at 2:11 pm

    Eeep! Thinking good thoughts for good severance packages and easy to find jobs.

    Reply
  • 7. BobTurkey  |  June 1, 2009 at 3:57 pm

    Bummer.

    I hope another door opens as this one closes.

    Gobble gobble.

    Reply
  • 8. kyrilean  |  June 1, 2009 at 4:44 pm

    Damn. Nah I think your word works better. 😦

    Reply
  • 9. ribby47  |  June 1, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    My 60 day notice is about to come to a head on 6/16, so I feel your pain.

    My company got bought out by a larger insurance company a little over a year ago. We’re West Coast. They’re east Coast. All of us here knew that this was coming, but we just got fed so much Kool-Aid by the powers that be to keep us here and working….

    …until we got an email a month and a half ago. “Meeting 1pm tomorrow. All employees, including virtual, must attend. Your schedules have been rewritten to new times if your shift is outside of this timeframe”.

    Textbook mass layoff, I said. “Nah, something else” said my coworkers.

    Net result? 113 people, the whole site, getting laid off with 60 days’ notice. Right into the worst of the recession. Fortunately, we get some degree of severance and a little notice, but that’s about all of the positives.

    Yaaaaaaay.

    Reply
    • 10. Elleiras  |  June 2, 2009 at 7:05 am

      Damn.

      I am really sorry. 😦 My soon-to-be former company has done that with its east coast support offices, but those of us on the west coast had been spared (for the most part) up until now. Hopefully you find something soon.

      Reply
  • 11. thrinidir  |  June 2, 2009 at 12:55 am

    fuck

    truely

    Reply
  • 12. thrinidir  |  June 2, 2009 at 12:56 am

    …and I can’t even spell *sigh*

    truly it is

    Reply
  • 13. Draxi  |  June 2, 2009 at 1:39 am

    FUUUUCK!!!!!

    Reply
  • 14. Fulguralis  |  June 2, 2009 at 5:54 am

    We had one of those “emergency” meetings yesterday too. Fortunately (or unfortunately depending on how you look at it), no one could tell us what it meant for us personally, just that it was probably bad. Working in general sucks right now. That is to say, are any of us ever really secure? :-/

    Reply
    • 15. Elleiras  |  June 2, 2009 at 7:07 am

      Oh no. 😦

      I’m some ways, not knowing is even worse than knowing. My fingers are crossed for you.

      Reply
  • 16. Elleiras  |  June 2, 2009 at 7:10 am

    @everyone – thanks for the comments and well-wishes. I really appreciate it, and am touched beyond words by the empathy of the blogging community. ❤

    Reply
  • 17. Ambrosyne  |  June 2, 2009 at 7:36 am

    Fuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu-

    😦

    And the Chicago suburbs aren’t all that bad… *stares out at cold, wet weather in June* ….nevermind. Yeah, I guess you don’t want to be here. XD

    Reply
  • 18. Abi  |  June 2, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    OMG that’s terrible! Good luck on the new job hunt =(

    Reply
  • 19. oakleafwolf  |  June 3, 2009 at 9:26 am

    Good luck with the new job search, wherever it takes you!

    (Also, don’t be afraid of snow. Snow is nice… If you’re going to be unsure about anything in the north, be unsure about the days when it’s “too cold to snow”. But really, winter and autumn are my favorite seasons… So don’t worry. It’s more culture shock than anything)

    Reply
  • 20. Syrana  |  June 3, 2009 at 1:47 pm

    😦

    I’m sorry to hear about this happening to you.

    Reply
  • 21. Orgauth  |  July 1, 2009 at 8:18 am

    At least Rosemont has the Cavaliers. If anyone gets that reference, I’ll be impressed.

    Add your favorite expletive!

    Reply
  • 22. Orgauth  |  July 1, 2009 at 8:18 am

    Darn, no images allowed…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Recent Posts

Contact Me?

elleiras@gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 150,815 hits

