I specced jerk.

June 8, 2009 at 3:07 pm 13 comments

Over the weekend, my mini pally finally managed to ding 79. 

Immediately after training her new skills in the Undercity, she hopped on the first bat to Hammerfall, intercepted my baby shadow priest on the long road to Stromgarde and — with a single swing of her De-raged Waraxe — netted herself an heirloom mace (and two and a half Forsaken fingertips, which she promises to return to their rightful owner.  Someday.)

Yes, that’s right.  I am now a healing paladin — not a holy paladin, mind, because my spec is a mix-matched jumble of points that made my guild’s paladin tank (not that one; the other one) cry. 

True story.  A whole five minutes had transpired since the aforementioned transfer of macely ownership when my tankadin friend ran into me in Dalaran. 

He paused.  Inspected me.  /Boggled. 

“That doesn’t look like tanking gear,” he /said for all to see.  “But that doesn’t look like a healing spec, either.”

He’s since taken to calling it SillySpec, and no matter how many times I protest that I FOUND IT ON THE INTERNETS, he won’t stop giggling. 

It’s disconcerting, really.  

In my defense, I was looking for a deep holy build.   Since several all three of my guild’s dedicated PvPers were online at the time — including our powerhouse of an arena-flavored ret — I asked in guild chat for advice. 

“WTB holy spec, PST.”

The shadow priest-turned-warlock responded: “Put all of your points in prot.”

I thought he was joking until the the frost mage-turned restokin chimed in: “Yeah, prot paladins are jerks in battlegrounds.  You should totally spec jerk.”

And so … I did.

Eventually, my BG partner — the raiding rogue and warrior twink who inspired this craziness in the first place — logged on, and we decided to put our Saronite-clad duo through their paces in Warsong Gulch. 

I’ll let you know how that turns out.  We’re still trying to master the “queuing for the same battleground at the same time” achievement.  Who knew that WSG had attunements? 

/cough

Entry filed under: WoW. Tags: , .

Star light, star bright, first star I see tonight … The Death of an Old God

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. The Renaissance Man  |  June 8, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    Well, if you went a Holy/Prot hybrid with a spot of ret in it, then that’s actually a somewhat respected leveling spec. It’s been dubbed the “Survivadin”. The downside is that you really can’t kill much of anything.

    Reply
    • 2. Elleiras  |  June 8, 2009 at 4:33 pm

      I want to say it’s 17/54/0, or something similar. (I can’t check beause I’m at work, and work frowns on WoWsy things.)

      On a side note, I love that you can make any word sound paladiny simply by adding an “-adin” to the end of it.

      Reply
  • 3. ribby47  |  June 8, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    This

    Is about all I got. Website should make it through the work filter.

    However, my HTML-fu is weak and I don’t see a preview button. If this is borked and non-editable, please forgive me. And delete it, mercifully.

    Reply
    • 4. Elleiras  |  June 9, 2009 at 10:08 am

      Still filtered. Nerf work. 😦

      Reply
  • 5. Ambrosyne  |  June 9, 2009 at 8:15 am

    Trufax: When Maly10 was progress, two of our tanks really wanted to be there, but you don’t need two tanks. So the tankadin threw on his healing gear and became our third healer. Without respeccing.

    We downed Maly when the other healers were a disc priest and holy pally…LOL single target heals.

    Prot pallys in holy hear can be pretty mean healers in a pinch…

    Reply
    • 6. Elleiras  |  June 9, 2009 at 10:14 am

      I believe it! I jest, but she’s turning out to be a fairly strong battleground healer: impossible to kill, never OOM, and able to keep herself and her warrior up under heavy focus fire.

      Side note, I love that your guild accomodates players’ roles and specs. We do the same thing as much as possible. I know a lot of guilds that would sit out the second tank or force a respec on him, or send the priest to holy. You make it work, and that’s pretty awesome.

      Reply
  • 7. lantanasham  |  June 9, 2009 at 9:03 am

    I confess I don’t have anything witty or insightful to say, but I just *had* to comment that I absolutely love “I specced jerk.” I have a secret love for paladins, even though I’ve never played one past lvl 9. And it’s not just because their awsome buffs help me out as a shammy. (maybe it’s that hot paladin I played with for all those months…. 🙂

    Reply
    • 8. Elleiras  |  June 9, 2009 at 10:17 am

      I have a love/hate relationship with my paladin. She was absolutely awful to level from 1-68 — which I did pre 3-.0, when retribution was still “lolret.” But 74-79 has been so much fun! And Crusader Aura + Epic flying is a rush.

      /geek

      Reply
  • 9. Matticus  |  June 9, 2009 at 9:05 am

    Look up an addon called AV Preform enabler. Works on every battleground and allows simultaneous queueing and joining of BGs. Only the leader has to do anything.

    http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/info8768-PreformAVEnabler.html

    All participants have to get it.

    Reply
    • 10. Elleiras  |  June 9, 2009 at 10:06 am

      I used AV Perform Enabler once upon a time (i.e., in TBC!), but as of 3.x there’s a button on the default BG UI to queue as a group. The problem was that poor, poor Heartgrinder kept misclicking it (out of habit, I’m sure) and queuing himself individually.

      After the second or third time, I stopped telling him when I didn’t get the queue, because it was sooooo much more fun to wait for the inevitable realization and the increasingly creative string of profanity when he realized that he’d zoned into a battle and left his healbot behind. I was laughing so hard I was unintelligible on Vent. 😉

      Reply
  • 11. Dorgol  |  June 9, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    I’ve heard of this “healing with a Prot spec” before. Haven’t tried it yet, though.

    If the guild keeps insisting on me raiding as Ret (despite my crappy Ret Gear), maybe I’ll swap my second spec and try it out.

    Reply
  • 12. Orgauth  |  June 30, 2009 at 8:38 am

    17/54/0 is supremely jerky. I don’t have the link handy (at work), but if you look at my Armory (Orgauth, Arathor-US) secondary spec – that is it.

    With wings up, I was critting with HL near 28k – not that you can get many HLs off in Arena setting. FoL crits 6.5k-ish. These numbers apply to the PvE gear set I’m logged in.

    Pluses: Lots of health and mitigation, constant Divine Plea regen (which does cut your heals in half, but since SP scales with STAM in this build, better PvP gear will counter that), +30% healing on crits, HoJ on 20-sec CD, Avenger’s Shield silence, Divine Plea CANNOT BE DISPELLED.

    Minuses: No Illumination regen from crits, no Holy Shock, no Beacon (which will be OP in 3.2 with overheal counting, rather than just effective heal), no Judgements of the Pure (haste buff), no Divine Grace for reduced HL cast time.

    I glyphed for Cleansing (mana reduction), Salvation (damage reduction on self), Hammer of Justice (extended range), Kings minor glyph (cheaper reapplication of BoK during long fights). May swap the Cleansing for FoL (+5% crit), since FoL spam is the mainstay of the “Jerk” spec. Haven’t read any theorycrafting behind it, for gemming/enchants/glyphing, but I would assume that the PvE INT stacking is NOT the way to go – probably a good mix stam and SP to counteract the Divine Plea healing reduction mechanic, plus the obligatory Resilence where you can fit it in.

    Reply
  • 13. Orgauth  |  June 30, 2009 at 8:39 am

    One more minus I forgot: No Divine Favor for a “crit at will”.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Recent Posts

Contact Me?

elleiras@gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 150,815 hits

