Divine Hammer of the Righteous Guardian … blah.

July 16, 2009 at 10:23 am 11 comments

After earning all of 2,418 honor on my level 79 paladin “twink,” I decided I’d had quite enough of that thankyouverymuch ... and ding’d 80.  Now I’m fulfilling a long-held but (frankly) terrifying goal, and <cringe> learning to tank.

You know, all of those cute, paladin-flavored buzzwords (“holy,” “divine,” “righteous”, “shield,” hammer”) were, well, cute before I actually needed them to mean something.

Hammer of the Righteous and Shield of Righteousness.  I know one of them does single-target damage (I guess this would translate into “generates single-target threat” in more tanky terms?), and the other is basically a cleave.  I also know — courtesy of my guild’s other paladin tank, who follows me around Northrend laughing at my spec, my glyphs and my feeble attempts at maintaining a 969 “rotation” — that I can’t just macro my 6 abilities to one key and my 9 abilities to another; I have to actually be smart about them.  So if I’m pulling multiple mobs, I want my cleave to be the first 6 ability I use.

Okay, that makes sense.

… But which of these stupidly named abilities is my cleave?  Ugh.  To my uninitiated (but lovely!; I do play a Blood Elf) ears, they sound exactly the same.

After a quick poke around Maintankadin, I picked up a neat trick, and am now learning to translate everything from Paladin into Warrior so it makes sense again.  Warrior abilities don’t have cute, clever little names that follow some kind of bizarre, escaped-from-a-reality-TV-wedding theme.  No, warrior abilities are wonderfully descriptive!  Shield Bash.  Cleave.  Intercept.  Heroic Strike.  You can totally tell — from the name alone! — what the ability actually does.

I should’ve rolled a warrior.

Of course, then I wouldn’t have had this sexy red-headed Tinkerbell look going on.  It’s a trade-off.

Entry filed under: WoW. Tags: .

A waste of a raid night? In which I share Amber’s pain.

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Fuubaar  |  July 16, 2009 at 11:30 am

    Wait until you have to figure out the difference between Block Rating & Block Value…

    You’ll want to punch your self.

    On a more paladin based note, I would suggest pulling with Avengers Shield. It hits up to three targets & Silences casters. Shoot that, then drop your consecrate. By this time, you’ll have more than enough threat on your targets that your little DPS threat party can go to town 🙂

    Paladin tanking is the whoop digity!

    You’re more than welcome to let me know if you have questions. I’d love to answer 🙂

    ~Fuu

    Brilliant!

    Reply
    • 2. Abi  |  July 17, 2009 at 5:23 am

      Tis true! Pally tanking is a whole lot of fun.

      The only part I didn’t like was drinking all the time T_T.

      Reply
      • 3. jpmakal  |  August 7, 2009 at 1:17 pm

        As long as you are chain pulling and have Divine Plea Glyphed, you should never drop below 75% mana…

        Reply
  • 4. jong  |  July 16, 2009 at 11:35 am

    haha. I’m trying to learn to tank too. I tried HoL with a training wheel in the form of our prot pally going holy and marking every pull for me. I don’t know if I’ll ever be a good tank, because I keep getting aroused by 6969 rotation.

    Reply
  • 5. Tara  |  July 16, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    Hehe, good luck with your pally. I got my paladin to 80 about a month and a half ago and have had a great time learning to tank. I totally and completely agree with you that the paladin ability names need help. Holy Righteous Shielding Hammer of Wrath, that’s what they all sound like to me. I just remember what the icons look like and manage to get by. I’ve tanked Naxx10/25, VoA10, and OS10/25 so far and it’s pretty darn fun! A lot different from healing and dps! But eventually you can just sorta face roll the keys and you’ll do fine.
    Paladin tanking is extra easy because you can use your taunt on your party members, so when I see a little red aggro square in Grid I just click on em and whatevers hitting my friend runs my way instead. Don’t even have to find the mobs, woohoo.

    Reply
  • 6. BobTurkey  |  July 16, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    Good luck Elleiras.

    I’m learning to tank also. I’ve tanked a grand total of two isntances so far 🙂 Its kinda fun in a terrifying, button mashing kind of way.

    I’m gald as a warrior I don;t have to decipher the fancy names of my abilities though. Shield Slam does just that 🙂

    That taunting thing Tara mentions sounds like a hack to us warriors.

    Gobble gobble.

    Reply
  • 7. leah  |  July 16, 2009 at 5:14 pm

    pally tanking is ridiculous fun! once you figure it out our abilities, grabbing and holding threat on a pally is so much easier then warrior – especially multiple target threat.

    what I’ve learned so far.

    when you pull with avenger’s shield – be prepared to run up to your mobs and hit them with hammer of the righteous (that’s the cleave thing), because more often then not, dps will not wait for them to get to your consecrate before unleashing. so generally I start with avenger shield follow with hammer of the righteous and then drop my consecrate.

    keeping righteous defense (multiple target taunt) bound to a convenient mouse button via clique is absolute love. whenever I see aggro straying from me to someone else on my grid (grid is awesome for tanking btw, not just for healing 🙂 ) – I just point, hit righteous defense button – voila, mobs are on me again. easier then single target taunt OR using the macro from maintankadin (and of course after I’ve typed it – I saw Tara mentioning the exact same thing – but I’m still keeping it in my reply 🙂 ).

    you can also pull with hand of reckoning (that’s your single target taunt) and even exorcism (it has a lovely range).

    I confess – the 6969rotation? umm – I tank the way I play ret 😛 just hit whatever is available after I’m done with initial pull. the only rule I try to follow up is using my shield of the righteous (the shield slam) right after I judge, because I have badge libram that increases my block every time I judge for a few seconds? good threat and good damage 🙂

    anyways – pally tanking is a great deal more forgiving then warrior or druid (haven’t tried DK yet, so cannot tell for sure 😛 )

    Reply
  • 8. Ambrosyne  |  July 17, 2009 at 6:57 am

    Didn’t you see my Pally Tanking flowchart?!?! It totally explains everything!

    …seriously, I looked at the 6969 rotation, then arranged my buttons so that they went…well…. 6 9 6 9, in descending order from what I deemed “most” important to least.

    …then I proceeded to spam whatever the hell came up, with whatever was to the left going first. I can successfully faceroll tank my way through Naxx this way. I’ll be sure to venture into Ulduar as a tank at least once and let you know how that goes! *coughs*

    Reply
    • 9. Ambrosyne  |  July 17, 2009 at 6:57 am

      My warrior isn’t NEARLY that forgiving, btw. But I loves her.

      Reply
  • 10. Orgauth  |  July 17, 2009 at 7:20 am

    969 rotation is macroable – you just can’t have many qualifiers or miscellaneous crap in the macro. I just faceroll that thing, with taunts/Exorcism/Avenger’s Shield (snap aggro tools) nearby for breakaway baddies. The advice of having Righteous Defense usable on unit frames via Clique (or Healbot – my preference, since I use HB for healing) is spot on. Much easier than doing a “select aggro puller/click RD” combo.

    Reply
  • 11. Vads  |  July 20, 2009 at 9:34 am

    I so hear you on the paladin ability names!

    I’m tanking for a couple months now with my paladin and I still can’t remember for the life of me what they are called, the throwing disc, my bubblewall, the 4 target “cleave” etc. Much easier on the warrior :]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Recent Posts

Contact Me?

elleiras@gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 150,815 hits

