Bind-on-pickup.

August 3, 2009 at 11:30 am 40 comments

One week ago yesterday, I stood — forlorn and teary-eyed — in Sky Harbor’s careworn and ever-so slightly dilapidated Terminal 2, waving a broken-hearted goodbye to my boyfriend as he navigated the labyrinth that is airport security on his way home to Calgary.

It was the first time we had seen each other since his last three-week visit in February, and was likely to be the last time we would see each other until the three-day weekend we have planned for my birthday in October.

Long distance relationships suck.

Sure, there would be the daily phone calls, the late night Vent conversations, the thrice-weekly raids and the double-paladin alting that passes for dates in our lonely, online existence. But after ten days, not as Sarielle and Keaton, but as Michelle and Jef — ten days of cuddling on the couch while watching Firefly on DvD… ten days of contemplating wine but settling on Mountain Dew and Diet Coke … ten days of romantic dinners and deep-fried artichoke hearts and Sims 3 and Dancing Through Life

I couldn’t do it.

I couldn’t go back to Azeroth, where spending an afternoon with the man I love means doing the daily circuit in Icecrown or leading 23 of our closest friends through Ulduar.

Apparently, he couldn’t do it either.

On Tuesday morning, I was back at Terminal 2.

So was Jef.

He proposed in Terminal 2, in the exact spot that we first met last June, and where we’ve both met and said goodbye on every visit since.  The cute, sweetly romantic thing is that he didn’t even fly into Terminal 2 this time: he flew into Terminal 4, and took the airport shuttle to Terminal 2 to meet me in our special place. 

There, he went down on one knee — in front of everyone — including a little old lady who was pleased to announce she had the entire thing on film! — and made a lovely, heartfelt speech.  It took leaving and coming back again to make him realize it, he said, but our proposal shouldn’t be about an expensive dinner or some crazy scheme to slip me a ring.  It should be about a real life together, and a real, tangible commitment.

Needless to say, I accepted.

And, lo and behold …  it’s soulbound

*  *  *

I love you, bear.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

And on the seventh day … I made her a shaman, of course.

40 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Timothy Burgher  |  August 3, 2009 at 11:34 am

    Wow what a great story to read!

    Reply
  • 2. Jaeley  |  August 3, 2009 at 11:35 am

    Oh, congratulations! The best of happiness to you both!!

    Reply
  • 3. spinks  |  August 3, 2009 at 11:36 am

    Aww, congrats. Hope you have many happy years together!

    Reply
  • 4. Liore  |  August 3, 2009 at 11:36 am

    What an adorable story. Congrats, you two.

    Reply
  • 5. D  |  August 3, 2009 at 11:39 am

    Wow, that story left me teary-eyed, it was so sweet! Congratulations to the both of you!

    Reply
  • 6. Andrew  |  August 3, 2009 at 11:41 am

    Congrats guys. You’re both awesome.

    Reply
  • 7. Tara  |  August 3, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    Congratulations, that’s a lovely read on a Monday morning. Good luck to you both.

    Reply
  • 8. kyrilean  |  August 3, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    Epic win!!! 😀

    Congratulations!!!

    Reply
  • 9. Anna  |  August 3, 2009 at 1:19 pm

    Congratulations and hooray!

    Reply
  • 10. Fulguralis  |  August 3, 2009 at 1:40 pm

    Grats! And take it from a newlywed… now comes the fun part ;-).

    Reply
  • 11. Armagon  |  August 3, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    thumbs up 🙂

    Reply
  • 12. wonk  |  August 3, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    If ever there was a post to make a person de-lurk, this is it.

    A very big congratulations, that’s such a romantic story!

    Reply
  • 13. BobTurkey  |  August 3, 2009 at 4:24 pm

    Congratulations!!!!!!

    Great post too. 🙂

    Gobble gobble.

    Reply
  • 14. lifedeathsoul  |  August 3, 2009 at 8:18 pm

    Grazzies from one warlock to another 🙂 Cheers to many years of a long and happy married life XD

    Reply
  • 15. veliaf  |  August 3, 2009 at 10:51 pm

    Congratulations 🙂

    Reply
  • 16. Sierro  |  August 4, 2009 at 6:06 am

    Incredibly awesome and congratulations to you both!

    Reply
  • 17. Ambrosyne  |  August 4, 2009 at 8:53 am

    _Squee_!

    Congrats!

    Reply
  • 18. oakleafwolf  |  August 4, 2009 at 9:25 am

    Congratulations!

    ❤ ❤ ❤

    Best of luck!

    Reply
  • 19. Pixelated Executioner  |  August 4, 2009 at 9:26 am

    Congratulations!

    Reply
  • 20. Light  |  August 4, 2009 at 11:09 am

    Congratulations! What a wonderful story!

    Reply
  • 21. Matticus  |  August 4, 2009 at 11:17 am

    Yay! Grats!

    Reply
  • 22. Elleiras  |  August 4, 2009 at 11:52 am

    Thank you for all of the congratulations and well-wishes. From both of us. ❤

    Reply
  • 23. Tigerfeet  |  August 4, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    CONGRATS! I’m totally crying, see what you did to me?

    Reply
  • 24. Anakiro  |  August 5, 2009 at 1:21 am

    I’m teary eyed! Congratualtions to you both. 🙂

    Reply
  • 25. Frickadelle  |  August 5, 2009 at 5:41 am

    I’m with Tiger and Anak….I’m tearing up reading this cute story.

    Such a great story….congratulations to you both!

    Reply
  • 26. Patch 3.2 « der Hexenmeister  |  August 5, 2009 at 1:19 pm

    […] By veliaf First off, before I say anything to do with the patch at all, I’d like to congratulate Michelle, the author of the very good Fel Fire blog, on getting engaged – hopefully she and her fiance […]

    Reply
  • 27. Linedan  |  August 5, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    Congrats Michelle!

    Reply
  • 28. Elleiras  |  August 5, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    Thanks again, everyone. ❤

    It's kind of awesome — okay, it's totally awesome! — to receive RL "Grats!" … many from people I didn't even't realize read my blog. Jef and I are truly touched.

    Reply
  • 29. Sean  |  August 5, 2009 at 6:55 pm

    Heartfelt congratulations and best wishes for the future!

    I lived in Mesa for 12 years and always fly into/out of Terminal 2 when visiting my parents who still live there. Careworn and slightly-dilapidated for sure, but such things often have their own special charm. Seems like it did for you 🙂

    Reply
  • 31. Asara  |  August 6, 2009 at 4:52 am

    That is so sweet! Many many congratulations! ❤

    Reply
  • 32. Victor Stillwater  |  August 6, 2009 at 10:57 am

    I read this and smiled. Thank you for making my evening. 🙂

    Reply
  • 33. Sigel  |  August 6, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    Aww! That’s so nice to read! Congratulations to you both. I’m new to this blog, but got quite addicted to it!

    Cant’ wait to read more! :))

    Reply
  • 34. Syrana  |  August 6, 2009 at 5:27 pm

    Congrats! And that is the best loot evah. 😉

    Reply
  • 35. Siha  |  August 10, 2009 at 6:59 pm

    Aw – congrats. LDRs really are terrible; I’m glad you made it work, and I’m glad there was a light at the end of the tunnel for you! 🙂

    Reply
  • 36. Erielle  |  August 12, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    Congratulations! I’m so happy for you both! I was teary-eyed with joy! It’s so sweet.

    It also gives me hope for my own long distance relationship, as well, that started on WoW. The leveling alts thing as a date sounded really familiar. Hehe. My boyfriend lives in the UK, while I live in the US, though.

    I wish you well and many happy years to you both! 😀

    Reply
  • 37. Keredria  |  August 14, 2009 at 10:12 am

    A little late… but such a cute sweet story that I had to throw in my congrats as well. 🙂

    Reply
  • 38. Elleiras  |  August 14, 2009 at 10:21 am

    Thanks all. ❤

    Reply
  • 39. Tessy  |  August 17, 2009 at 6:17 am

    Browsing through my reader after a long vacation I stumble upon this!

    *blinks away happy tears before my co-workers wonders what’s wrong with me*

    I’m happy for you! Congratulations to you both and a big hug!

    Reply
  • 40. TJSonntag  |  August 28, 2009 at 2:12 pm

    How unbelievably awesome! We now have something else in common!

    /skips off to make her pocket healer some dinner

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Recent Posts

Contact Me?

elleiras@gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 150,606 hits

