This is your cue to Lifetap!

February 12, 2009 at 6:01 pm 19 comments

lifetap

To every Priest who has ever thrown a Renew on me mid-boss fight, and watched my health bar remain cheerfully, obnoxiously green for the entire duration of the HoT,

To every Shaman who has wasted his 6-second cooldown on a well-timed Riptide, and watched me continue to DoT away, completely oblivious to that veritable waterfall of healing,

To every Druid who has ever loaded me up with HoT’s after a pull, and then watched in abject horror as I sat down to eat a piece of stale strudel,

I’m sorry.

I’ve walked a mile in your hooves.  I know exactly how you feel.

I’ve healed that oh-so oblivious warlock through Naxxramas, watching his mana almost as closely as I watch my own, saving my Riptide for the precise moment that he unloads that last DoT and comes to the perfect place in his rotation for a Lifetap … and then watch, devastated, with honest-to-Earthmother TEARS in my eyes as he continues to cast Shadowbolt after Shadowbolt after Shadowbolt, neglecting his mana until two seconds before the inevitable Silence/Stun/Decimate/Necrotic Aura/Lava Wave/Spider Web/AoE Attack of DOOM.

So, I promise … I promise …  I will look for that swirl of gentle green energy, that cascade of healing rain … and I will know it for the beautiful, wonderful gift that it is …

And I will Lifetap.

lifetap21

Entry filed under: WoW. Tags: .

The best application I ever denied … /blush

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Perrin  |  February 12, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    The funny thing is that you can stop a high threat good-quality Warlock in his tracks by lifeblooming and rejuving him, as he’ll go “Oooh HoTs” tap a few times, but lose his DPS thread and drop down on the threat.

    🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Phylin  |  February 12, 2009 at 6:41 pm

    LOL. This is so true. I get way too frustrated when they go loot, and stand around while my renew ticks down to nothingness… then the lifetaps start.

    Reply
  • 3. Elleiras  |  February 12, 2009 at 6:42 pm

    @Perrin – You, sir, are one clever druid. 😉

    Reply
  • 4. Jirschi  |  February 13, 2009 at 3:32 am

    Actually i just found this side by random, and after reading that it makes me smile, after some really hard work i finally got our warlocks to use the lightwell 🙂 but well, i am going to read on a little, because this was very nice written o.o

    Reply
  • 5. When should you Life Tap? | Warcraft-News.com  |  February 13, 2009 at 7:11 am

    […] in her blog Fel Fire posted a humorous yet insightful entry about when Warlocks should Life Tap. She apologizes to all the Priests, Druids, and Shamans (sorry, […]

    Reply
  • […] in her journal Fel Fire posted a humorous still insightful entry most when Warlocks should Life Tap. She apologizes to every the Priests, Druids, and Shamans […]

    Reply
  • 7. When should you Life Tap? | DailyWarcraft.com  |  February 13, 2009 at 7:31 am

    […] in her blog Fel Fire posted a humorous yet insightful entry about when Warlocks should Life Tap. She apologizes to all the Priests, Druids, and Shamans (sorry, […]

    Reply
  • 8. Poque  |  February 13, 2009 at 11:29 am

    Ahaha, so true. Playing both a warlock and a priest, I know both halves of this equation 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. Built Horde Tough » Archive » When should you Life Tap?  |  February 13, 2009 at 11:40 am

    […] in her blog Fel Fire posted a humorous yet insightful entry about when Warlocks should Life Tap. She apologizes to all the Priests, Druids, and Shamans (sorry, […]

    Reply
  • 10. Kinzlayer  |  February 13, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    What is up the spams?

    Anyway, healers need to also notice that the current accepted warlockery (for non-Haunt build) practice is to massively drain their mana pool before they start tapping during a fight. There was a few threads that was discussing the practice (on the Den) of basically draining your mana pool to <25% then start double tapping 1) to optimally dps and 2) to get that nice 300+ spirit to boost the second life tap. Of course if that warlock taps when they are not suppose to, LET THEM DIE, that is how they will learn (it’s the ways of the warlock).

    Reply
  • 11. Kinzlayer  |  February 13, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    wopse, forgot to mention that they get that 300+ spirit if they got their 4pc T7(.5).

    Reply
  • 12. Elleiras  |  February 13, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    @Phylin – Amen! I had no idea how frustrating that was until I started raiding on my resto shaman. I actually went back and apologized to our healers, lol.

    @Jirschi – That’s funny. Our holy priest calls his Lightwell a Lifetap-well — a not-so-subtle hint, I think! 🙂

    @Poque – Right there with you!

    @Kinzlayer – WoW Insider linked to this post today, so the link-spam comes from pingbacks to all of WI’s mirror sites. I’m kind of intimidated. o.o

    I’ve tried to time my Lifetaps strategically since picking up the 4pt7 bonus. I know it shouldn’t be a part of our rotation, per se, but if I need to Lifetap anyway, then I’d rather do it at a point in my rotation that I can get some benefit out of it.

    I need to spend more time at The Warlock’s Den. I feel so cut off from the community since work started blocking WoW-related sites. 😦

    Reply
  • 13. World of Warcraft 4 » When should you Life Tap?  |  February 14, 2009 at 12:03 am

    […] in her blog Fel Fire posted a humorous yet insightful entry about when Warlocks should Life Tap. She apologizes to all the Priests, Druids, and Shamans (sorry, […]

    Reply
  • 14. Kestrel  |  February 15, 2009 at 10:55 am

    As a Holy Priest, all I can say is, “Thank you.” 🙂

    I DO know better than to put a Greater Heal on you every time you Tap, but when I DO put that renew on you (probably along with the other 3 priests in the raid), use it, don’t abuse it. 😀

    Reply
  • 15. *vlad*  |  February 17, 2009 at 6:15 am

    But healers love to heal us, even when we don’t need it!
    The number of times I will sit down to eat, and then 2 seconds later some healer will hit me with a heal spell; but I still need mana, therefore I keep eating, and your heal was wasted.

    As for in-combat; I’ve got Haunt and Siphon Life on the go, spare your heals for the more needy! Of course I like getting renews, but I am going to turn your whole renew into mana if we are dpsing anything but a boss, because I am lazy!

    Suck it down!

    Seriously though, as Afflcition, I am playing a version of ‘keep the plates spinning’ with my dots.
    I have to Life Tap when I can afford to do it in my dot rotation, and not when it might be best to get the maximum return on the Renew you just gave me.

    Reply
  • 16. Elleiras  |  February 18, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    @Kestral – You’re very welcome! (And I wouldn’t be opposed to a Greater Heal every now and then, either…) 🙂

    @Vlad – That’s true, too. If Haunt is about to fall off of a boss, then you had better believe I’m going to use the Global Cooldown to refresh it rather than Lifetap.

    On the other hand, when we’re chain-pulling and AoEing our way through trash, then I’ll probably stop whatever I’m doing and ‘tap as soon as I notice that HoT on me.

    Warlocks are remarkably self-sufficient, and good healers know that. 🙂

    Reply
  • 17. Aislinna  |  February 20, 2009 at 10:30 pm

    Well, if Haunt was about to fall off in 3 seconds, I’d rather recast Haunt and while it’s on its way to parasitically leech itself onto the boss, tap down and profit!

    Reply
  • 18. When to Lifetap « Warlock Nation  |  March 12, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    […] in her blog Fel Fire posted a humorous yet insightful entry about when Warlocks should Life Tap. She apologizes to all the Priests, Druids, and Shamans (sorry, […]

    Reply
  • 19. online stock trading advice  |  January 11, 2010 at 1:04 am

    Your site was extremely interesting, especially since I was searching for thoughts on this subject last Thursday.

    I’m Out! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Contact Me?

elleiras@gmail.com

Blog Stats

  • 152,852 hits